Tuvalu #atozchallenge

Well, how about that? We’ve made it to the last week of the 2017 A to Z Challenge! Hope you’re ready for seven straight days of posting.

TUVALU


Tuvalu. By TUBS [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Yes, Virginia, there is a Tuvalu. It’s an archipelago in the South Pacific roughly halfway between Australia and Hawai’i that used to be called the Ellice Islands, when they were a colony of the United Kingdom. At that time, they were lumped in with the Gilbert Islands, which are now the country of Kiribati.

You can read all about Tuvalu here at your leisure; there’s quite a lot about it, and there are links to even more information and articles about the place. About 10,000 people live there, and they don’t get many visitors. Makes sense; there doesn’t seem to be a whole lot there and, judging from the map, it’s pretty much out in the middle of nowhere. Which, I’m sure, makes it very attractive to some.

Ever had the desire to go to Tuvalu? Had you even heard of it before now?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

23 thoughts on “Tuvalu #atozchallenge”

  1. Oddly enough I have heard of Tuvalu because I read the memoirs of J. Maarten Troost who wrote many books, most notably, The Sex Lives of Cannibals. If you want to understand this part of the world, from a modern perspective, I recommend this guy’s books. Hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi John – I can’t compete with Ally’s comment … but yes I did know about Tuvalu – they performed Shakespeare there … a dog came on the stage (it was a Shakepeare’s Globe project in recent years – I wrote about it last year in August), and also we get competitors from Tuvalu competing during the Commonwealth Games … so Tuvalu … I do know – I’d love to visit though .. cheers Hilary

    http://positiveletters.blogspot.co.uk/2017/04/t-is-for-turkey.html

    Like

    1. I know… Mary and I don’t do well when Jeopardy! has a geography category. There are more countries than there were when we last took a geography class, especially with the breakup of the Soviet Union and all the upheaval in Africa.I think we all need to get a copy of The Dummies Guide to Geography…

      Like

  3. No, I never heard of Tuvalu before today but had to look it up on Google Earth after your directions from Hawaii. With Samoa and Tonga even farther southwest, I’m surprised it doesn’t get more mention around here. I do plan to check out the memoirs by J. Maarten Troost that Ally Bean mentioned, though.

    Like

  4. Oh my goodness, this last week has me filled with all sorts of anxiety. I would hate to have made it this far and dropped the ball! Yikes! But such challenging letters ahead in Retail…U, V, X, Y, Z?! ::Fingers Crossed::

    Like

  5. I believe I did hear about this small island but I can’t recall where but I know I did hear about it. Now I’d love to go there just to say…I’ve been to Tuvalu

    Like

  6. When I worked in a college library, I kept an nfo cabinet full of different countries for the tourism students – so yes, Tuvalu, Kiribati (isn’t that the first place to see the new year in?) and many more have been on my radar at some point. I made it my goal to have information on every single country in the world, but I’m not sure I managed it.

    Like

  7. Never heard of it – thank you for sharing. I wouldn’t want to be that far away from everything – just sayin. Hubby and I do most everything within a 100 mile radius, which includes our frequent trips to Blue Ridge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

