Two For Tuesday: Ringo Starr

Ringo Starr, The Beatles’ legendary drummer who sang a couple of songs with The Fab Four, had five top ten hits that spent a total of 26 weeks during my high school days. Two of them reached #1, both within a few months of each other.

His first #1 was “Photograph,” which he co-wrote with fellow Former Fab George Harrison. It spent seven weeks in the top ten in November 1973.

His second, a cover of Johnny Burnette’s “You’re Sixteen,” entered the top ten in January 1974 and spent six weeks there.

Ringo is still at it, and as of last June was working on an album with his All-Starr Band. He’s considered one of the most distinctive rock drummers of all time.

Ringo Starr, your Two For Tuesday, May 9, 2017.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

16 thoughts on “Two For Tuesday: Ringo Starr”

    1. Neither have I, but I got a free copy of his “Sentimental Journey” album, which came out after they broke up. He was singing a lot of old songs with an orchestra. It wasn’t my favorite album when I was fourteen, but now I wish I still had it.

      Like

  1. I like the drums but was never ga-ga over Ringo. We’ve had opportunities to see him as he plays at the Mountain Winery which is one of our favorite small venues but have never gone. Paul, yes! But I do like “Your Sixteen,” catchy little tune.

    Like

    1. Do you remember the original “You’re Sixteen” by Johnny Burnette? It came out in the late Fifties or early Sixties (I think it was on the “American Graffiti” album). Fun song.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi John – he’s drummed clever – he’s stuck around and been successful … I admire him … cheers Hilary

    Like

Leave a Reply

