The Week That Was for Mother’s Day 2017

This edition of The Week That was is brought to you by Campbell’s Soup.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers etc. out there.

The Week That Was

WordPress is screwed up big time on my laptop, from which I’m working today. The old editor is buffering all my keystrokes unless I turn off all my plugins. I tried using their “improved” editor, which has tons of problems, and when I switched back to the old editor, guess what? I lost the whole post. So if I’m a little more terse than usual, that’s the reason. Here’s the summary.

We celebrated artists who had a birthday on May 8.

Ringo Starr was the featured artist. the week before, Paul McCartney & Wings were the featured artists. Who will it be this coming week? George Harrison? John Lennon? Someone else? Tune in on Tuesday and see.

a2z2017

We posted our reflections on the recently-concluded A to Z Challenge. I had a good one.

WFMW

I hadn’t done a Wednesday for my Wife story in a while, and as the Kentucky Derby ran a week ago yesterday Mary asked me to write the one Grandpa Holton story I heard from my grandmother. Grandpa had a heart attack and died when Dad was seven, so I never got a chance to meet him.

1linerwedsbadgewes

I posted an image quote that I’d seen on Facebook a lot that made me laugh whenever I saw it.

I got a bee in my bonnet about the term “guilty pleasures,” which sounds like an oxymoron. Why do people feel guilty about things that make them happy?

I shared the Top Ten from WJJD in Chicago for May 12, 1958. Interesting to hear all those old tunes.

socsbadgecropped

The prompt was “language,” so I discussed my misadventures with languages.

I thought tomorrow was a freebie day on Monday’s Music Moves Me, but evidently they changed their minds. I had planned on mashing up M4 with the regularly-scheduled Battle of the Bands, so I don’t know whether to write two posts, to do the Battle of the Bands and forget M4, or mash them up anyway and tell them to get over it. Apart from that, just a regular week here at The Sound of One Hand Typing.

That’s it for this week! See you soon!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

4 thoughts on “The Week That Was for Mother’s Day 2017”

  1. Is this for Monday’s Music Moves Me. If you look in my sidebar you will see what theme is for today and Michael Golch is our Spotlight Dancer he chose 60’s music & don’t forget to sign our linky. Love your Campbell’s commercial… too cute!!!

    Like

    1. Yes, Marie, I caught it. This would have been a freebie week, but since Mike had this one, I’ve done a M^4 post and a BotB post separate. I’ll sign the Linky, tho I’m not sure when… The week after is artists born on siblings’ birthday, yes?

      Like

Leave a Reply

