BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “(Let’s) Get Together”

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

I was searching for information on the song “Get Together” by the Youngbloods, for some reason. You remember it, don’t you?

Checking The Blogger’s Best Friend, I learned that The Youngbloods released the song in 1967, and it did OK (#62 on the Hot 100, #37 on the Adult Contemporary chart). It was used as the background music for a radio commercial by the National Conference of Christians and Jews, which brought it back to people’s attention, and it reached #5 on the Hot 100 in 1969.

I also learned that The Youngbloods were far from the first artists to do the song. It was written by singer-songwriter Chet Powers (also known as Dino Valenti), who titled it “Let’s Get Together,” and that The Kingston Trio were the first to record it on the album Back In Town in 1964. Several other artists have recorded it, including the two acts we’ll be featuring in this battle. Your job will be to listen to both versions and vote (by leaving a comment) for the version you like better. The Youngbloods are not contestants in this battle, so no matter how much more you like their version, please don’t vote for them. OK? OK!

CONTESTANT #1: We Five The song was a followup to We Five’s hit “You Were On My Mind.” It was released in 1965 and reached #31.

CONTESTANT #2: Jefferson Airplane This was on their first album, 1966’s Jefferson Airplane Takes Off. Released as a single, it barely reached the Hot 100, peaking at #97.

Now it’s time to vote: which did you prefer, We Five’s or Jefferson Airplane’s? Leave me a comment with your choice. I’ll be announcing the winner next Sunday, so have your vote in by then. When you’ve finished, how about going over to Stephen T. McCarthy’s Battle of the Bands blog, where he has a list of all the current participants in Battle of the Bands, and checking out some of the other battles going on today?

The lines are now open. Good luck to We Five and Jefferson Airplane!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

19 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “(Let’s) Get Together””

  1. I love this song. I first heard it on the commercial you mention when it was played during a break in the Sunday night Smothers Brothers Show I think it was. After that I discovered the Youngbloods though oddly back at that time I never bought any of their albums even though I liked the group and Jesse Colin Young a great deal. Money issues and priorities I guess. I did have a version of this song on one of my gospel albums from the sixties by the Oak Ridge Boys.

    The We Five version struck me as kind of lackluster. I’m familiar with the Airplane version and they are one of my favorite groups of the era. My vote goes to Jefferson Airplane.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. This is one of my favourite songs, but by the Youngbloods (of course). It was the very first 45 that I bought. It was 1969; I was ten years old. I will be honest. I don’t think either of these versions come close to the original. However, if I had to choose, it would go to Jefferson Airplane. Nobody can get the feel for it like the Youngbloods, though. They nailed it. Thanks for this song today. Awesome.

    Like

  3. One of my favourite songs from the summer of ’69 – a memorable time! πŸ™‚ These covers were new to me, though. Neither one does justice to The Youngbloods’ version IMO, but I preferred the sound put forth by the Jefferson Airplane.

    Like

  4. Jefferson Airplane for me as well. I like the guitar and the playing sounded stronger to me plus Grace Slick’s voice..I mean it’s just fab!

    Like

  5. JOHN, I really wish I could bust up this shutout for ya, but in good conscience, I cannot.

    I listened to We Five first. I did not like it, and I was thinking: I guess I don’t know this song.

    Then I listened to The Youngbloods’ hit and thought: OF COURSE I KNOW THIS SONG! I’ve heard it a godzillion times and have always liked it.

    In other words, We Five screwed it up so badly that I didn’t even recognize the melody and that famous chorus. At least Jefferson Airplane made the song recognizable.

    ~ D-FensDogG
    [Link:) Stephen T. McCarthy Reviews…

    Like

  6. I LOVE this song, the Youngblood’s version. I can listen to it over and over. I didn’t realize they weren’t the first to record the song. We Five had that very early 60s sound and it was okay but Jefferson Airplane’s version is much better, in my opinion. That’s where my vote is going.
    I’m so glad you chose this song for your battle. Brings back so many memories…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

Leave a Reply

