Monday’s Music Moves Me: Sixties Rock!

Mike Golch is today’s musicmeister, and he says he wants to hear some Sixties rock. Glad to oblige, Mike.

The Dave Clark Five, “Can’t You See That She’s Mine?” The DC5 were often seen as competition for The Beatles, but their sound was different: where The Beatles were an example of the Merseybeat sound, the DC5 were famous for the Tottenham sound. This was their fourth single in the US and it reached #4 in 1964.

The Beau Brummels, “Laugh Laugh” This was released in 1964 and rose to #15 on the Hot 100. The Beau Brummels were from San Francisco, and their producer was none other than Sylvester Stewart, later to find his own success as Sly Stone, frontman for Sly & The Family Stone.

Status Quo, “Pictures of Matchstick Men” Status Quo was a British band who released this in 1968. It reached #12 on the Hot 100 that year, and it was super-easy to play.

Amboy Dukes, “Journey To The Center Of The Mind” That’s Ted Nugent on guitar… but you knew that. Their one big single, it reached #16 in 1968.

The Electric Prunes, “I Had Too Much To Dream Last Night” Recorded in late 1966 and released the following year as their second single, it reached #11 on the Hot 100 in 1967. I remember someone here thinking “The Electric Prunes” was a band I just made up.

That’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for May 15, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.

Photobucket

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

18 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Sixties Rock!”

  1. The 60’s were great. I remember listening to my parents music. Loved it. The Beach Boys, Chuck Berry, Temptations, Rolling Stones… The 70’s were good too 😀

    Like

  2. These are all great songs by great groups. I especially liked “Laugh, Laugh”. The Beau Brummels had a great sound. Too bad all these artists kind of faded away, well except for Ted Nugent, but I didn’t really follow his music after Amboy Dukes.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  3. Oh gosh…love these! It was so much fu listening to these. Each one is so unique yet so part of the era and so much talent compared to the fluff of today. Thanks for the groovy time

    Like

    1. The Sixties were an interesting period, because you had so many crossovers. Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra both had singles that charted, and a number of country artists (Lynn Anderson, Donna Fargo, Conway Twitty, Buck Owens etc.) had hits on the pop charts. One of the biggest was “Ode To Billy Joe” by Bobbi Gentry, which was country but had blues elements in it. Great time for music. Fifty years later, not so much.

      Like

  4. I am Not sure how to post what my brother wrote to me because I found this post so great that I sent it to my brother. He gave me so great insight about each piece. He reminded me that the Beau Brummels were on The Flintstones and that they wanted to be next to the Beatles in the record stores. My brother owns The Electric Prunes record where it is all sung in Latin which connects to your earlier post about language

    Like

  5. The only one I hadn’t heard was the “Pictures of Matchstick Men”. All the other ones sure brought back memories of the 60s. Funny how I even remembered some of the words to all of them. 🙂

    Like

    1. You’re probably like us, where we an’t remember why we walked into a room, but can come out with lyrics from obscure songs from fifty years ago. Though I’ve never been good with lyrics…

      Like

Leave a Reply

