The Friday Five: Top Five Songs From The 2017 Eurovision Song Contest

A while back, I did a couple of posts that gave the top songs from the Eurovision Song Contest, both for 2015 (then the current year) and 1974 (the year ABBA placed first with “Waterloo”). This year’s contest ended last Saturday, with Portugal’s Salvador Sobral winning for his song “Amar Pelos Dois.” It was the first time Portugal won the contest, and the first time they placed in the top five in the 53 years they’ve participated. Congratulations to them.

#5: Robin Bengsston (Sweden), “I Can’t Go On”

#4: Blanche (Belgium), “City Lights”

#3: Sunstroke Project (Moldova), “Hey, Mamma!”

#2: Kristian Kostov (Bulgaria), “Beautiful Mess”

#1: Salvador Sobral (Portugal), “Amar Pelos Dois”

This year’s winners left me with that “meh” feeling. Most of the contestants were chosen from their home country’s Idol or The Voice program on TV, and almost all the songs in the final round were sung in English. I guess this is a byproduct of Europe becoming more or less one country, but I could be wrong.

Anyway, what did you think of the finalists, and of the competition in general? The full list of all the participating countries and how they placed is on Wikipedia, and all the songs are on YouTube.

That’s The Friday Five for May 19, 2017.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

10 thoughts on “The Friday Five: Top Five Songs From The 2017 Eurovision Song Contest”

  1. Hi John – I ‘heard’ Salvador Sobral and read about his story … he’s in desperate need re a new heart. I can’t take the Eurovision contest … and the Brits are loathed in Europe … we did come 15th I think this year … but it washes over me!! Each area gangs up together … regardless of the song … that’s my lot!!! Cheers Hilary

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The quality of the music has gone down considerably. The earlier contests at least had more variety and countries weren’t satisfied to just take the latest winner of “The Voice” and have them sing the song. Interesting they don’t like the British but all the songs are in English (another way the quality has declined).

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s on the air in Europe. The European Broadcast Union runs it. This year’s was the 62nd, so it’s been around as long as I have. And no, the winning songs aren’t all that impressive, nor are the performers, who seem to have been chosen by their country’s version of “The Voice.” They were better in years past.

      Like

  2. There used to be a blogger who would regularly post updates on Eurovision and I would keep up with a lot of the songs that way, but he’s apparently stopped posting so I haven’t kept up.

    The songs for the most part seem reflective of what’s on the current pop charts in the U.S. (and probably the world I guess). They’re probably in English because it’s the language of the music that sells the most. How many people are going to buy music in Bulgarian or some language like that? The music is okay–it sounds like what I hear coming from the radio when I hear it played in stores. Rarely would I listen to current pop radio and if I did it probably wouldn’t be for long. I’m stuck in the past I guess.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

