The Last Weekend of Spring Week That Was

Here’s John Cleese for Lowney Peanut Butter Cups.

I don’t know if they still sell Lowney’s Peanut Butter Cups, which is probably a Canadian brand. Anyone familiar with them?

The Week That Was

Once again, I find myself having to do all this with the WYSIWYG editor and switch over to the HTML one to embed the pictures etc. Funny thing, it doesn’t go really slowly when I cut-and-paste… but anyway…

I saw the doctor this week, and it looks like I’m on my way back to physical therapy, as the Juxtalite compression gadgets I’ve worn for the last year haven’t worked, and my leg is back to where it was. Looks like I’m going to have to find a way to get the compression socks on my legs by myself. They have a sock donner to help me get them on, so I’ll inquire about that. I’m sure they’d be happy to oblige. Anyway, onto the weekly summary…

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

It wasn’t even a contest:

We Five: 1
Jefferson Airplane: 15

Congratulations to Jefferson Airplane, and We Five, what can I say? Nice try, I guess. Shopgirl, who voted for We Five, especially liked Debbie Graf’s voice, but I guess the Airplane’s arrangement in general was better. Not as good as the Youngbloods’ version, which I think is the definitive cover of the song.

Mike Golch wanted to hear some Sixties Rock, and that’s what we had. I always get some comments when I play music from that era from people who don’t remember when those songs were popular, which is what I’m going for.

John Denver was the featured artist this week. He got really popular in the Seventies, and for a while you couldn’t turn on the TV and not see him, because in addition to appearing on many of the variety shows that were in their heyday he had a show of his own. Or maybe it just seems that way, because he was on so many shows.

1linerwedsbadgewes

Another piece of advice from me, which came from an image quote I saw on Facebook or Twitter or someone else’s blog. By the way, Linda Hill is having her new-badge contest for One-Liner Wednesday, and will be linking to the contestants tomorrow on her blog. Be sure and vote early and vote often.

The prompt I chose this week was to write a post based on the word “fired.” I came to the conclusion that getting fired, while generally not thought of as a good thing, was sometimes a blessing in disguise, as it might be an indication you had been at that job too long. I know that was my case. The discussion is always open, so feel free to read and comment on it.

This week I played the top five songs from the recently-concluded Eurovision Song Contest. I wasn’t impressed, and from the comments I received, neither were you.

socsbadgecropped

Linda’s prompt was “all or nothing,” and it turned into one of my music posts, with three songs that had “all” in the title paired with three that had “nothing” in the title. There is a standard song that has both “all” and “nothing” in the title, and you’ll have an opportunity to hear that one in my next Battle of the Bands, on June 1, a week from this coming Wednesday.

All the regular favorites will be back this week, including a free-for-all for Monday’s Music Moves Me (get well soon, Marie!), another popular act from my high school days, a one-liner, writing prompted by both Kat and Linda, a Friday Five, and anything else I can think of.

That’s it for this week. See you tomorrow!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

9 thoughts on “The Last Weekend of Spring Week That Was”

  1. Hi John – love John Cleese .. and I’ve never heard of Lowneys – but then I’m over the pond … so makes sense I guess. I wish you well with your sock scenario – they are most definitely not easy … or enjoyable to wear … I hope the challenges in that direction can ease … cheers Hilary

    Like

  2. The John Cleese commercial is great. I like compression socks/hose. I’ve always found them comforting, but it’s a challenge to get them on. John Denver was on all the time, wasn’t he? I loved him, especially with the Muppets.

    Love,
    Janie

    Like

    1. Cleese is a very entertaining character, that’s for certain. I wore compression hose when I was in the hospital, when I had a rehab nurse to help me get them on. Mary wasn’t quite as capable, so I stopped wearing them. I hope the therapist and I can work something out so I can get them on myself. There are sock donners that can help, if I can figure out how to use them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

