Writer’s Workshop: Going on Staycation

You might remember that Atlanta won the right to host the 1996 Olympic Games. As with any case where the city at the hub of the area you live in decides, without consulting the residents, to hold a huge event, there were people who thought this was great, and others who thought it was a really stupid idea. I was a member of the latter group.

Believing that the Olympics would cause a greater logistical nightmare than Atlanta normally is, and since our county was uninvited from participating (the county board never bothered to ask the residents whether that they wanted them to make the resolution, probably because they wouldn’t like the answer), not to mention the fact that Mary and I couldn’t care less about the Olympics, we decided to take the two weeks off and ignore the fact they were going on. When I told someone this, they said “So, you’re going on staycation, then?” It was the first time I had heard the term, and I liked it.

We had a great time. We went to a lot of movies, ate out a lot, and I’d watch the Braves, who were on a two-week road trip to the West Coast, at night. All without traveling more than five miles from home.

Many of the vacations we’ve taken have been spent at home. Not that we’re opposed to traveling, although it’s gotten infinitely harder with my disabled status in the last ten years. We’ve taken some great trips over the years, don’t get me wrong, and there have been some occasions when I was able to mix business and pleasure and take Mary with me. But we’re basically homebodies, and when I was traveling all the time, the last thing I wanted to do on vacation was get on a plane and go somewhere. And, from Mary’s perspective, she’d rather spend the money on yarn.

Today’s prompt was to write about the word “staycation.”

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

29 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop: Going on Staycation”

  1. Avoiding the Olympics held in your own city sounds like a perfect reaction. I have traveled more than my share for work. I’ve managed to squeeze some fun in, but mostly it’s been go-work-return, and I won’t miss it when I retire.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We had the Pan Am Games here a long time ago. I don’t remember much about it, but it did mean we got a new ice skating rink downtown and I liked that.
    We take a staycation much more often than a vacation. It’s nice to loaf about without schedule sometimes. Much cheaper, no packing 🙂 We’re scheduled for vacation this summer, but The Mister still hasn’t committed to my booking anything…

    Like

    1. Turner Field, where the Braves used to play, was actually the Olympic stadium, which they converted (knocked out half of it and added outfield seats). Nothing’s going on there now because they moved to a new stadium closer to where I live this season.

      The cheaper-and-no-packing thing is a definite bonus to staycationing…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I remember when Market Square Arena came down and then we got The Hoosier Dome. It was SUCH a big deal. Now, it seems we build a new stadium every 10 years! Lucas Oil Field is like 4 blocks or some crap.

        Like

        1. It’s like that here. When I first got here, there was Fulton County Stadium for the Braves and the Falcons, hand The Omni for the Hawks and whoever the hockey team was at the time. Then the Olympics came and suddenly everyone had to have a new home, and twenty years later they needed ANOTHER new home.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Bill used to travel, when he was”corporate guy”. I went along a couple of times. I went along since he has been trucking, too. We like small trips to visit historical places and nature.

    Like

    1. I took Mary with me when I went to Holland and England to do some training way back when. She had a good time, but said she missed me during the day and didn’t want to go with me anymore. Naturally, the next big trip was to Hawai’i… but she’s not a beach person, anyway, and hates to fly. We actually had a good time on a couple of trips I made to Alabama. One was to Huntsville, and she visited the NASA center there while I was at work. The second was kind of spur of the moment: I had to go to Montgomery, and planned on renting a car and driving there. She said, “why don’t I just come with you?” I saved the client a couple hundred bucks, not renting a car, and I actually got the room cheaper, because I changed the reservation without using a travel agent…

      Like

  4. I’ve been trying to make plans to do more things around our area lately too. We live so close to San Francisco and the beach that we could do a lot just staying home. Air fare is ridiculous, even though I enjoy the excitement of the airport and flying. I don’t blame you for not getting in the mix of the Olympics. We did get the torch through our city and that was exciting.

    Like

  5. Hi John – staying home makes sense … and one can enjoy the area so much more … excellent idea … cheers Hilary

    Like

  6. I like the idea of a staycation too. The first time I did a staycation I was working at an ad agency in DC. When it came time for my vacation everyone was asking where I was going. I told them “I’ll tell you when I get back” knowing full well that I wasn’t going anywhere. I did that because I didn’t want them calling me while I was off on vacation time asking me questions about projects etc. They were notorious for incessantly calling when I was home sick. I unplugged my phone and of course when I went back once I was feeling better I was accused of faking my illness because they called me several times and I “wasn’t home.”
    Oh I don’t miss those corporate days…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. I had a manager (not surprisingly, the one who wanted to fire me) who would call the week before and try to talk you into putting it off, citing “I might need to send you somewhere that week.” My reaction was always “tough sh*t.” Then he’d ask you to give him a number where you could be reached while you were gone. I was like, “hey bonehead, vacation means I can’t be reached.” I went to a guitar “camp” (for lack of a better description) that I had paid a lot of money to go to, and, after trying and failing to get me to reschedule, and after I was unable/unwilling to give him a number where I could be reached, he told me to bring my cellphone, in case he needed to get hold of me. I did — and left it in the glove compartment all week. I must have had half a dozen messages from him when I checked at the end of the week. I’m glad I’m out of there…

      Like

  7. I still want to travel and see great art and architecture and take in the culture but I totally understand staying home too. My hubby talks about travelling when certain house things are done. I told him they are never done and my pain is getting worse so walking gets more difficult. I think as one gets older, the norm is to want to stay at home and take small trips but still be home in the evening. I have taken many staycations and they are enjoyable especially when one has pain and one just doesn’t feel like going.

    Like

    1. Right. If you waited until you finished everything that needs doing in your house, you’d never go anywhere. There’s ALWAYS something.

      I think it’s interesting that seniors are the ones who manage to take all the cruises and excursions around Europe. You’d think they’d be the last ones who would want to travel, but I guess retirement is the only time you (supposedly) have the money to do all that. I saw an interesting video about seniors who are getting into the tiny homes that have become all the rage, and how many live in campers and trailer homes, by choice. They like the ability to move and not leave home, I guess.

      Like

  8. I had my share of traveling before I retired. My hubby stay at home a lot but we get out and around in our local area. We also like to take weekend trips to quaint little mountain towns.

    Like

  9. I am with you – trapped in gridlock is no way to enjoy life! I avoid it at all costs. I can’t imagine living in a city hosting the Olympics! >_<

    Like

    1. It wasn’t as though there were that many locals who attended the games. The people who were happy about it were the ones that could make a small fortune renting their houses out. And in the grand tradition of the Olympic spirit, they pretty well gouged the out-of-towners.

      Like

  10. I totally get how you feel about the Olympics. Eh, boring. I hate TV when it’s on, too. Stay-cations are great. We’re not going anywhere this Memorial Day, Just enjoying the garden & eating out locally.

    Like

    1. It’s no fun watching the Olympics on TV. I don’t understand what they’re doing or why they’re doing it, and the announcers are no help. Enjoy a quiet Memorial Day!

      Like

  11. There’s no place like home! I agree with you, some trips are lovely, but there is so much happening in our own states that if you can’t travel, you will find plenty to see close to home! Smart move dodging the Olympics! I would feel the same way if our town hosted. Ugh!

    Like

Leave a Reply

