Two For Tuesday: Roberta Flack

Roberta Flack only had three Top Ten hits during my high school days, but all three went to #1 and she spent a total of 26 weeks at the top of the charts. In addition, she did a popular duet with Donny Hathaway, “Where Is The Love,” that spent six weeks in the Top Ten, peaking at #5, and a second duet with him, “The Closer I Get To You,” after our time period.

She won the Grammy for Record of the Year in both 1973 (for “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face“) and 1974 (for “Killing Me Softly With His Song”). The latter spent nine weeks in the Top Ten in 1973.

Her third #1 was “Feel Like Makin’ Love,” which came out in the summer of 1974 and spent six weeks in the Top Ten.

In 2012, Roberta recorded Let It Be Roberta, an album of Beatles covers. She lived across the hall from John and Yoko in the Dakota apartments beginning in 1975. She is said to be recording a second album of Beatles covers, but we don’t have a status on that.

Roberta Flack, your Two for Tuesday, May 30, 2017.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

19 thoughts on “Two For Tuesday: Roberta Flack”

  1. She had a great voice and I always equate her with the 70’s. I was wondering what happened to her and it would be cool to hear her take on some classic Beatle tunes

    Like

  2. It took some time for me to fully appreciate Roberta Flack–didn’t care much for her at first. I started to get on board with her music after “Feel Like Making Love” hit the charts. After that I began to reevaluate her earlier work. She did some good work.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face” was almost funereal, it was so slow and dirge-like. It was five minutes of almost dead air, and quickly became one of my EBS Specials. I couldn’t believe it was Record of the Year. That’s when I began to realize the Grammys were BS. She’s a great singer and fairly good piano player, and her later stuff was great, particularly her duets with Donny Hathaway. I’d be interested to hear her Beatles covers.

      Like

      1. Yeah. She did have a concert here last year. I was so disappointed that I couldn’t go.

        Sometime last decade, she annually did a (usually Valentine’s) concert here together with our top local artist Martin Nievera. I always wanted to go, but money was always short. I hope I get to see her perform one day. I hope she can still do it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

