The Pentecost Sunday Week That Was

This edition of The Week That Was is sponsored by Palmolive soap. Because the essence of your beauty is soft, smooth skin.

It’s a rainy day here in Georgia. We almost didn’t get out, but we ran between the raindrops to get out of the house because that’s what we do on Sunday. And several other days of the week. I’m still trying to work with the “new and improved text editor” because I’m typing whole sentences before any of the words show up with the old one. Curiously, it only seems to happen here. How strange.

The Week That Was

It was a pretty good week. In the pre-retirement days, I would call it a short week, because Memorial Day was Monday, but nowadays, they all just sort of run together. Anyway, let’s see what I did this week.

Monday’s theme was songs about cars. About half of the songs I picked were chosen by others as well, which is something I try very hard not to do, but it was a holiday. I do plan on adding your suggestions to the playlist, and might add a few from other people’s playlists as well.

Roberta Flack was the featured artist last Tuesday, and in a special Twofer, as a sort of send-off for Gregg Allman, who sadly passed last weekend, The Allman Brothers Band was also featured.

Wednesday’s One-Liner came from Mike James, formerly the editor of NewsBlues, a newsletter for newspeople in the media, specifically television. He had a few strongly-worded comments about the current state of TV news, but which could probably apply to newspapers, magazines, and the Internet.

Couldn’t find a prompt I liked among this week’s batch, so I went back a week and chose the prompt that asked me to name eight entities who really need a timeout. In my day, when a kid got a timeout, he or she was told to go stand in the corner, so that was what I told my eight to do. I had so much fun writing it that I’m considering making it a semi-regular feature.

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

Voting on my latest Battle of the Bands, Battle “All Or Nothing At All”: Sarah Vaughan, June Christy, and Billie Holiday, continues through Wednesday, so get your vote in if you haven’t already done so. I’ll announce the winner this Thursday.

I was searching for a topic for this week’s Friday Five, and came up with the idea that I would pick a summer during my life (1956 thru 2016) and play the top five songs from that year. I started with 1979, a year where I don’t remember much about the summer’s music because I was working nights and didn’t hear a whole lot of music, and found a list of songs. Then I thought, why not choose five songs at random from the list and play those? So that’s what I did, and it was only after I finished the post that I realized that these were the top forty songs from summer 1979… in Great Britain. It’s a good idea nevertheless, and I’ll probably do it again, if I can figure a way to get the top forty from the US.

socsbadgecropped

The prompt was “weather/whether,” and I was about to talk about wanting to be a weatherman when I grew up, and realized you all are probably tired of hearing about it. I went back through the archives and found all the posts I had done about the weather, and linked to all of them. I found myself reading a few of them, as well as the commnts people left, and I realized, I haven’t heard from a lot of people in a while, and resolved to go back through my old posts and re-establish contact with them. I also talked about a neat trick I figured out for following up on comments I left on Blogger sites, which I hope helps a few of y’all.

No real surprises, although with me, you never can tell. I’m tempted occasionally….

That’s it for this edition of The Week That Was. See you soon!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

4 thoughts on “The Pentecost Sunday Week That Was”

    1. Last I checked, they were still forecasting rain through tomorrow (Tuesday), but it looks like the sun is making an appearance. That was the way it was yesterday: by the time I finished the post, the sun was out and the sky was clearing. By 8:00 that evening there were weather advisories. Very strange.

      Like

Leave a Reply

