Two for Tuesday: Aretha Franklin

Aretha Franklin spent 25 weeks in the Top Ten during my high school days, with five songs. Strangely, none of those songs reached #1.

“Spanish Harlem” was a hit for her in August 1971. It spent six weeks in the top ten, peaking at #2.

“Until You Come Back To Me (That’s What I’m Gonna Do)” also spent six weeks in the top ten, starting in February 1974. It peaked at #3.

Back in March 2013, I dedicated the month to people who share my birthday, March 25, and Ms. Franklin is one of them. You can see what I talked about there.

Aretha Franklin, your Two for Tuesday, June 6, 2017.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

18 thoughts on “Two for Tuesday: Aretha Franklin”

  1. She is such a great singer and among the greats of all time great singers barring her horrible rendition years back of Nessum Dorma when Pavoratti couldn’t be there:)

    Like

  2. Hi John – she is an amazing singer – I loved her songs and still do – so thanks for posting these … cheers Hilary

    Like

  3. I was never an Aretha fan–just don’t care for that style of singing–but unlike Birgit I enjoyed her version of “Nessum Dorma”. Hearing her sing that gave me a different perspective and new respect for her singing.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

Leave a Reply

