#1LinerWeds From The Movie “The Blues Brothers”

We got both kinds o’ music here: Country AND Western!

Yesterday’s Two for Tuesday featuring Aretha Franklin reminded Dan of a scene from the original Blues Brothers movie, which in turn reminded me of the scene where they showed up for their first gig only to see that they’re booked into a country bar. That’s the scene where I got today’s one-liner from.


One-Liner Wednesday is brought to you each week by Linda Hill and this station. Now, a word from our sponsor.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

19 thoughts on “#1LinerWeds From The Movie “The Blues Brothers””

  1. I showed my son the original Blues Brothers movie a few months ago; it’s now his all-time favorite. 🙂 Lots of good quotes from that movie.

    Those double-length cassettes were the plague in tape form. The tape was much thinner than normal, and stretched easily (if it didn’t break altogether). The stretching produced some “interesting” audio effects, and more than once I had to extricate one of the darn things from my Mustang’s player.

    Like

    1. Did you see “Blues Brothers 2000”? They did “Ghost Riders In The Sky.” That wasn’t a very good movie, but there were a lot of great musicians in it, including I think the last one by Junior Wells.

      Like

  2. “I hate Illinois Nazis.”

    Love Blues Brothers! Besides great music peppered throughout the movie, it’s got deep Chicago area references that only a native could appreciate (e.g. “well, this is definitely lower Walker Drive!”)

    One of my top 5 for sure.

    Like

    1. I remember. I think he had something to do with the House of Blues franchise. Blues as a viable type of music had just about died out by the Seventies when I discovered Muddy Waters, Howlin’ Wolf, Buddy Guy and Junior Wells etc. were still playing in these little clubs on the South Side of Chicago, and it was largely due to people like Ackroyd and Belushi that it had a real renaissance.

      Like

        1. The Blogger’s Best Friend says that Aykroyd, Aerosmith, Jim Belushi (John’s brother), River Phoenix, and Paul Shaffer started the company. I think it’s owned by a big conglomerate now. Never been to one, so I don’t know what I’ve missed. I think it’s kind of like the Hard Rock Cafe, which I have been to (and was underwhelmed by), but with live enertainment.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

