Holy Summary, Batman! It’s The Week That Was!

This edition of The Week That Was is sponsored by Batman, coming soon to a theater near you!

By now, you’ve heard that Adam West, TV’s “Batman,” died yesterday after a brief bout with leukemia. The only remaining “supervillain” from the show, Julie Newmar (who played Catwoman, although sadly not in the movie), paid him a wonderful tribute, saying he was “the best Batman ever.” Rest in peace, Adam West.

The Week That Was

Since yesterday, when I talked about how my Internet service was in and out whenever it was warm, I installed a new gateway (actually took out the one I had in there and swapped it for the one that was there before I changed it), and I’ve only had one brief outage. Could the gateway have been the issue? No way of knowing. Anyway, here’s the week in review.

I shared the #1 songs from the US and the UK on each of my brothers’ birthays, as well as my own. We were born on days with great music, is all I have to say.

2fortuesdaybadge

Aretha Franklin was Tuesday’s act from my high school days. She’s had a long and successful career, and seems to be a favorite of all of you.

Wednesday’s One-Liner was from the movie The Blues Brothers, which has more than its share of great one-liners. And Aretha Franklin was in both movies, the original and Blues Brothers 2000.

The prompt was “late,” so I wrote about a couple of times when I was not just late, but spectacularly so. I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I did writing it and remembering the times. And yes, there are plenty more stories like those.

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

My most recent Battle was won by Miss Sassy herself, Sarah Vaughan. Any time I feature a battle with Sarah Vaughan, she wins. I’m thinking of retiring her from future battles; she’s just too good.

After the previous week, where I chose five songs at random from a list of the top 40 songs in the UK during the summer of 1979, I had intended on doing the same thing. Seeing as I couldn’t find such a list, I took a WLS survey from the middle of that summer and chose five songs more or less at random, being careful not to select any disco tunes. I think I might have gotten the only five non-disco tunes on the survey…

socsbadgecropped

The word was “admit,” and the topic was my latest battle with my Internet service, where they finally admitted maybe they were the ones that had an issue. They’re coming out on Tuesday. Stay tuned for further updates.

Nothing special planned, though my friend over at Mostly Cajun has me thinking about this whole blogging thing. I wonder sometimes if I’m doing too much on autopilot. On the other hand, like him I’d rather talk here than on Facebook, and I’m still enjoying this tremendously. And I think I’d miss this too much. Okay, I’d miss you too much.

That’s it for this edition of The Week That Was. See you later!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

8 thoughts on “Holy Summary, Batman! It’s The Week That Was!”

  1. It’s such a shame Adam West died but I didn’t realize he was as old as my mom….actually my mo. Was born the same year but in February so she is 89. I love this movie…such high camp but who wouldn’t love this film with the fake shark

    Like

    1. He was. That series captured the spirit of the comic book as I remember it. Do you realize that, of the regular cast and supervillains on that series, the only ones that are still with us are Julie Newmar and Burt Ward? Blows my mind.

      Like

  2. I didn’t know about ADAM WEST dying until just now, reading it here. Too bad. I loved that show, and I still think the first two seasons were deliciously funny in that “too straight-laced” TV Batman way. I agree that Adam West was the ONLY real “Batman”, just as Julie Newmar was the ONLY real “Catwoman”. It was Newmar in that skin-tight costume who first made me truly aware of the “differences” between boys and girls. MEOW!!!

    ~ D-FensDogG
    STMcC Presents ‘BATTLE OF THE BANDS’

    Like

    1. When I think “Batman,” I invariably think of Adam West and the 1966 series. To me, he and Burt Ward were the perfect Dynamic Duo, and the rest of the regular cast, including the supervillains, was superb, with a couple of notable exceptions (none of the three Mr. Freezes were very good, and John Astin was pretty awful as The Riddler, although that might just be because Frank Gorshin did such an amazing job with the character). Of the three Catwomans (Catwomen?), Julie Newmar was the only one that caught the erotic nature (as far as you could in 1966) of the character, and the only one who showed the true nature of the relationship between her and Batman (he could make her become a good girl, she could make him a bad boy– they hate each other, yet find each other irresistable). Eartha Kitt did a fine job as Catwoman, but all that came through was the hate. My theory is that it was 1966 and showing an attraction between a white Batman and a black Catwoman would have had the ABC affiliates in the South refusing to air the show. But that’s just me. Lee Meriwether did an all right job in the movie, but couldn’t have played the character in the TV series; it would have been like John Astin as The Riddler.

      Ms. Newmar was in a commercial for Snap-E Tom tomato juice when I was about seven, and I was taken with her then.

      Like

      1. Dang! I don’t remember the Snap-E Tom commercial, but I do like Snap-E Tom. The grocery store next to where I now live sells it. Until I moved here, I had not seen it anywhere for a few decades.

        When I was little, in ’66 / ’67, I didn’t know why, but I liked those scenes where Catwoman (Julie Newmar) had Batman all tied up. When I got older, I realized why I had liked them. Ha!

        ~ D-FensDogG
        STMcC Presents ‘BATTLE OF THE BANDS’

        Like

        1. I think the commercial might have aired in the very early Sixties, so you might not remember it. She was dressed as a cowgirl with six-shooters, and said something like “Better make it snappy, Tom,” drew the pistols and started to spin them on her finger, and dropped both of them.

          She’s quite a woman. Not just drop-dead gorgeous (still), but quite intelligent.

          Like

Leave a Reply

