Monday’s Music Moves Me: Songs From 1978

It’s a “freebie” day here on M4, so I thought I’d feature some music from the year I graduated college and Mary and I got married. I looked at the Billboard Year-End Hot 100 from that year and took the first six songs that I liked. Hope I have some of your favorites here.

  1. Exile, “Kiss You All Over” This was Exile’s only hit on the Pop chart. They’ve had more luck on the country chart. It’s from their 1978 album Mixed Emotions and was #5 for the year.
  2. Player, “Baby Come Back” from their 1977 eponymous first album. The song was released in late 1977 and reached #1 in early 1978. It was #7 for the year.
  3. Commodores, “Three Times A Lady” From their 1978 album Natural High. It spent two weeks at #1 on the Hot 100 as well as on the Soul chart in August, and three weeks at #1 on the Adult Contemporary chart. It finished the year at #10.
  4. Paul Davis, “I Go Crazy” The first single from his 1977 Singer of Songs: Teller Of Tales LP. It only reached #7 on the Hot 100, but spent a record forty weeks on that chart. It finished the year at #12.
  5. Eric Clapton, “Lay Down Sally” From his fantastic 1977 Slowhand LP, it rose to #3 on the Hot 100 and finished the year at #15.
  6. Nick Gilder, “Hot Child In The City” From his City Nights LP, it made its way slowly up the chart to #1 by late October. It finished the year at #22, and was featured in the 1984 movie Angel.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for June 12, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

37 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Songs From 1978”

  1. Gosh, I love that song, “I want to kiss you all over” and I know all these except the Clapton song and the Davis song…I have to listen to them.

    Like

  2. John,

    You guys have been married a year longer than us. πŸ™‚ I remember all of these songs well. They really bring back some warm, fuzzy feelings from our courting days. DH graduated high school in 1977 and college in ’79. We got married a week after his college graduation. June 1979 was a crazy full month filled with changes. I wouldn’t have done anything differently. Thanks for sharing your memories on the dance floor with the 4M gals! Have a tunetastic week, my friend!

    Like

    1. You were what, seventeen when you got married? That’s really something. For all the not-so-good music of those times, there were some real gems, weren’t there?

      Like

  3. Ah, the memories! I love “I Go Crazy” and “Baby Come Back”. What a great way to kick off the week, bringing back those memories from the late 70s. I sooooo miss those years! If only I could go back, if even for a month…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. You don’t hear these in too many places. “Oldies” radio tends to cover the Fifties, Sixties, and the early Seventies, while the adult contemporary stations start some time in the mid-Eighties. There’s a ten-year gap that doesn’t get covered. Glad you liked these.

      Like

  4. Excellent choices for today! Exile is one of my all time faves. I was with a friend who needed to make a collect call, she was singing that song while she waited for the operator to come on the line. Imagine her embarrassment when the male operator answered and she sang “I wanna kiss you all over, and over again”. Fun memories.

    ~Mary

    Like

  5. You graduated from college when I graduated from high school. Does that mean you were very advanced and we are the same age, I was very slow and we are the same age, or you are older than I am? Take your pick.

    Love,
    Janie

    Like

  6. Well my friend I got a couple of years on you, but we’re in the same era… hahaha Love your choices here. You’ve definitely brought back some great memories for me this is definitely ROCKIN’ THE HOUSE for me!!!! Thanks for joining us… YOU ROCK!!!!!

    Like

  7. Did I miss the part where you explained why sometimes you don’t post the videos? You may have spoiled me, as I generally listen to your tunes while I read the other blogs…
    OKAY, am totally spoiled. πŸ™‚
    Y’all were gettin all adulty and married and I was goin to preschool πŸ™‚ I love all this music.

    Like

  8. I love Eric Clapton. LOVE but I will tell you about the Commodores – I usually head over to the grocery store in the early mornings when it’s really slow. Who ever takes control of the music is my kind of people. They played Three Times A Lady and it made my day. It’s the little things ya know?! I love all sorts of music from every era. Do you have spotify? If not, you should really hop on board. It’s free. I found an ad for it on Facebook. My mom dove in and got it first. Then hooked me on it. You have to sit through an ad every half hour but it’s worth it.

    Like

    1. I’ve tried Spotify on several occasions and have really hated it. I’ve had better luck with iHeart and TuneIn, where I can give the name of an artist and have it generate a playlist. Same deal with the ads, but less aggravation. πŸ˜‡

      Like

Leave a Reply

