The Friday Five: Your Car Songs (And A Couple More From Me)

On Memorial Day, I did a post on car songs, because that was the theme for Monday’s Music Moves Me that day. Naturally, you folks came up with a few more songs, and in putting this post together I realized there were a couple I forgot. So, we have ten more car songs for this edition of The Friday Five.

I should mention that I’ve been grouping the videos for these posts into playlists when I have five or more songs, because I know that, the more videos there are in a post, the more time it takes to load the site. How much time this saves, I don’t know, but that’s what I’m doing.

  1. Chuck Berry, “Maybellene” Dan suggested this one. This was Chuck’s first hit, and was recorded at the same time as “You Can’t Catch Me” and “Wee Wee Hours.” It peaked at #5 on the Billboard pop chart (the precursor to the Hot 100) and #1 on the R&B chart in 1955. And yes, that’s the way it’s spelled.
  2. Ricky van Shelton, “Backroads” Dan also thought of this one, and I’m glad he did, because I don’t know much about “modern” country (i.e. recorded after 1990 or so). It was the title track from his 1991 album. It peaked at #2 on the US Country chart and #3 on the Canadian chart in 1992.
  3. Prefab Sprout, “Cars and Girls” Arlee thought of this one. It’s from the 1988 album From Langley Park To Memphis, and reached #44 in the UK that year.
  4. NRBQ, “Ridin’ In My Car” Martha says she kicks off the summer with this one. Haven’t been able to find much about this one except it’s from 1977. The album they recorded with Carl Perkins, 1970’s Boppin’ The Blues, is one of my favorites. A great band that hasn’t gotten much recognition, though everyone seems to know of them and likes them.
  5. Gary Numan, “Cars” Birgit asked about this one. It’s from Gary’s third album, 1979’s The Pleasure Principle, and went to #9 in the US in 1980.
  6. Deep Purple, “Highway Star” Stephen came up with this one. It’s from their 1972 album Machine Head, and Jon Lord claims the guitar and organ solos are based on Bach-like chord sequences. Whatever, he and Ritchie Blackmore really shine on this one.
  7. Walter Egan, “Blonde In A Blue T-Bird” This is another suggestion by Stephen, and it’s one I never heard before today. Information is kind of sparse about the song and the album it comes from, so if you know anything about it, let us know in the comments.
  8. The Cars, “Drive” This one and the next two are songs I thought of while I was throwing this list together, and I decided to add them. This is from The Cars’ third studio album, Heartbreak City, and their highest-charting single in the US (#3 on the Hot 100, #1 on the Adult Contemporary chart) in 1984.
  9. Donald Fagen, “Trans-Island Skyway” From his 1993 album Kamakiriad, which The Blogger’s Best Friend calls “a futuristic, optimistic eight-song cycle about the journey of the narrator in his high-tech car, the Kamakiri (Japanese for praying mantis).”
  10. Paul Butterfield’s Better Days, “Too Many Drivers” Finally, some blues from one of the masters of the harmonica, from his 1973 album It All Comes Back, which I quite literally played the grooves off of during my blues stage.

Thanks to everyone who suggested these songs, and thanks for listening. That’s your Friday Five for June 16, 2017.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

17 thoughts on “The Friday Five: Your Car Songs (And A Couple More From Me)”

  1. Hey, JOHNNY FEVER, I got the straight dope on the Walter Egan song. ‘The Blonde In The Blue T-Bird’ comes from Walter’s second album, ‘Not Shy’, in 1978. This is the album that put him on the map with the big hit ‘Magnet And Steel’.

    It’s a really good album. I bought it in ’78, right after seeing Walter perform for free at a noontime concert at Santa Monica City College, BEFORE ‘Magnet And Steel’ started getting airplay. As much as I like the hit, I don’t think it’s even close to being the best song on the album. I like ‘…Blue T-Bird’ better. Also, ‘Sweet South Breeze’, and ‘Hot Summer Nights’, which is probably my favorite track.

    Heck, I’ll add a couple more car / car-related songs I dig:

    ‘Guitars And Cadillacs’ by Dwight Yoakam:

    (I could mention Springsteen’s ‘Pink Cadillac’ but I won’t because I can’t stand the guy!)

    And this next one is kinda funky and offbeat. Most people probably wouldn’t like it, but I do…

    ’45 Miles’ by Todd Snider:

    ~ D-FensDogG
    [Link:) Stephen T. McCarthy Reviews…

    Like

    1. ADDENDUM:

      I forgot to mention the album ‘LIVING WATER: The Surfer’s Mass’ by The Malibooz. The group includes Walter Egan, although he’s not really the leader.

      Many of the songs from this can be found at YouTube, and I would describe the collection as “The Beach Boys meet a Catholic Mass”. Yeah, it’s very, very unusual but I am totally wild about the album! In fact, it’s one of my very favorite Gospel albums in my collection, and it’s a record I can put on and just let it play over and over again for a few hours without tiring of it. It’s almost like a “meditation”. Incredible!

      ~ D-FensDogG

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

