The Father’s Day 2017 Week That Was

This edition of The Week That Was is brought to you by Sinclair gasolines. Only Sinclair gasolines have nickel!

The Week That Was

A very happy Father’s Day to all you fathers, grandfathers, stepfathers, foster fathers, uncles, priests and ministers, and anyone who plays father. Just for you guys, here are The Winstons from 1969.

Here’s the summary…

Monday was a freebie day, which I celebrated by choosing six songs from 1978, a year that’s important to me as I graduated and got married that year. And, in case you hadn’t noticed, I’ve started building playlists when I have more than one or two videos. This way the pages should load a little quicker.

file-feb-07-13-48-48

Cher was my featured artist on Two for Tuesday.

Also on Tuesday, I did the “thirty questions” meme because it looked like a lot of fun. And it was. Maybe I’ll come up with a similar meme and maybe it’ll go viral. You never know with me.

I selected this week’s one-liner from the movie Stripes, simply because it was on my mind. I also found an ancient cartoon for Ipana toothpaste, which sparked some conversation about toothpastes that no longer exist. Maybe one day I’ll do a thing on that.

I was insanely happy about someone from Comcast coming to the house and finally figuring out what the problems were with my Internet service, and more importantly, fixing them. The prompt word was “treat,” which is what Comcast did to my connection to the Internet, so that was what I wrote about. Simple things make all the difference sometimes.

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

I’ll be announcing the winner of this week’s battle on Thursday, so be sure and get your vote in before then. The song is “Big Blue Diamonds” and the contestants are Van Morrison and Percy Sledge, who has a big lead as I write this.

I hadn’t featured your choices of car songs from Memorial Day’s Monday’s Music Moves Me, so I rectified the situation as well as adding three more of my own. The other nice thing about playlists is I can keep adding on to them.

socsbadgecropped

TV freak that I am, when I saw that the prompt for the day was “sign,” I immediately thought of sign ons and sign offs, something that TV stations no longer do, as they broadcast continuously. If they don’t have material, they buy a few infomercials and show those. There were some good stories in the comments about your experiences with falling asleep and being awakened by the 400 Hz tone or by the hiss of static as the “ant races” take place. Later TV’s suppressed the noise so all you had was the visual.

All your favorite regular features will return, and maybe I’ll have a few other goodies for you.

By the way, if you have a blog and want me to link to it in the “Thanks For Your Comments” section, be sure to give me the URL of your blog, either in your comment or in the space provided on the comment form. I appreciate your stopping by and want to return the favor.

That’s all we have for this week. Thanks for stopping by!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

8 thoughts on “The Father’s Day 2017 Week That Was”

    1. Dino from the Sinclair commercials was an especially fun one. I always felt bad when Union 76 bought all the Sinclair stations in Chicago, because they started running a commercial with Dino slumping away and looking back sadly at a service station…

      Like

  1. Thanks for the recap, John. I don’t think I missed any but it’s nice to know that in case I do, I’ll be able to catch up here. Thanks as always for linking to my little corner of the blogosphere as well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

