Monday’s Music Moves Me: Locations!

Okay, I’ve gone a little overboard, again, as usual, but did I ever have fun doing it. My good friend Mary over at Jingle Jangle Jungle dared us to come up with songs with destinations in the title. Here are eleven (count ’em, 11) of them.

  1. Muddy Waters, “Kansas City” I was going to use Wilbert Harrison’s version from 1959, but I like this one so much better. Featuring the great band Muddy assembled in the mid-Seventies: Bob Margolin (first solo) and Lonnie “Guitar Jr.” Johnson (second solo), guitars; Jerry Portnoy, harmonica; “Pinetop” Perkins, piano and vocal; Calvin Jones, bass; and Willie “Big Eyes” Smith, drums.
  2. Sting, “Englishman in New York” From his 1987 album …Nothing Like The Sun, with Branford Marsalis on soprano sax. The elderly gentleman in the video is Quentin Crisp, author of 1968’s The Naked Civil Servant.
  3. JJ Cale, “New Orleans” From his 1990 album Travel-Log, one of my favorite albums of all time.
  4. Bireli Lagrene, “Senegal” Gypsy jazz guitarist Lagrene is best known for his ability to play almost like the amazing Django Reinhardt, but he recorded Foreign Affairs in 1990 to show he had an electric side. The album has faded into obscurity, but as one of the people who bought it (twice, as a matter of fact, on cassette and CD), I can tell you it’s amazing and “Senegal” is one reason.
  5. The Ides Of March, “LA Goodbye” Did very well as a single in the Chicago area (the Ides are from west suburban Berwyn), but virtually nowhere else, in 1971.
  6. Tony Bennett, “I Left My Heart In San Francisco” A classic by Mr. Bennett, who is most emphatically not joined by Lady Gaga on this recording.
  7. Redbone, “Witch Queen of New Orleans” Do you realize it was only recently that I learned it was Redbone who did this one? Great song, and I know that’s two songs about New Orleans…
  8. “Scotland The Brave” Not sure what pipe band did this one, but it’s a classic tune and one that every piper needs to know how to play. I’m serious, it’s in the rules.
  9. Murray Head, “One Night In Bangkok” From the 1984 concept album Chess, written by Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus of ABBA, with lyrics by Tim Rice. This is the only good song from it, as far as I can tell.
  10. Buddy Guy, Eric Clapton, Johnny Winter, Robert Cray, Hubert Sumlin, and others, “Sweet Home Chicago” Someone would have my head if I didn’t include this one.
  11. The Amboy Dukes, “Journey To The Center Of The Mind” Not all destinations are external, after all. Sixteen-year-old Ted Nugent plays the guitar on this one.

If you think of any that you would have added, let me know and I’ll add them. And that, at long last, is Monday’s Music Moves Me for June 19, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

31 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Locations!”

  1. Was Ted Nugent only 16 when he did Journey to the Center of the Mind?? Wowsa! That’s a great song!
    This was fun with this theme, wasn’t it? I just joined the Monday’s Music Moves Me gang. Hope you’ll stop by.
    Have a great week John.

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. Sorry, he was 19. He started performing when he was nine or ten (born in late 1948, started performing in 1958). He was 16 and still in high school when the Amboy Dukes started.

      Like

  2. England Swings by Roger Miller, Mexico by James Taylor, North to Alaska by Johnny Horton, I Go to Rio by Pablo Cruise., By the Time I Get to Phoenix by Glen Campbell, it Never Rains in Southern California by Albert Hammond, El Paso by Marty Robbins, Saginaw Michigan by Lefty Frizzell, Folsom Prison Blues by Johnny Cash, Brazil by Xavier Cugat, 10 good ones for a question rich in answers–I can name 3 by Marty Robbins and 2 by Frank Sinatra right off the top of my head, and can default to Johnny Cash’s “I’ve Been Everywhere, Man!”

    Like

    1. “Galveston” by Glen, too. Didn’t Johnny Horton (great name, by the way) do “Battle of New Orleans” and a couple of songs with locations? And of course “San Francisco” by Scott McKenzie and “Luckenback Texas” by Waylon Jennings(?)…. There are a shit-ton of songs with locations in them. We could be here all day…

      Like

  3. You could probably come up with over 10 on Ireland alone: ” Its a long way to Tipperary”, “The green hills of Antrim” and so on.

    Like

    1. Considering the Scots wrote a tune for every battle they fought, I could probably come up with a bunch of piping tunes, e.g. “The Barren Rocks of Aden,” “The Green Hills of Tyrol,” etc.

      Like

  4. Have a problem with Lady Gaga do you? Africa by Toto, Georgia by Willie Nelson, Back in the USSR by the Beatles, California Dreamin by the Mamas and Papas…you really could go on and on forever! Happy Monday!

    Like

  5. There are so many different songs about locations. I had to limit myself because I always tend to get carried away with the themes. I like your list of songs today. It will provide some great background music while I do some other work on the computer today. Thanks for playing!

    ~Mary

    Like

  6. For the first time, I’m actually looking through my playlists – is that cheating??

    Blue Piccadilly by The Feeling
    Dandy in the Underworld by Marc Bolan
    Echo Beach by (snigger) Martha and the Muffins
    Jesus of Suburbia by Green Day
    Land of Make Believe by Bucks Fizz

    It’s a bit of an eclectic playlist, so say the least!

    Like

  7. John,

    The songs on your new-to-me except for “I Left My Heart in San Fransisco” picks. Patrick shared Bennett’s cover, as well. I figured Sting “Englishman in New York” but I hadn’t. I enjoyed the complete playlist. Thanks for sharing and for hitting the dance floor with the 4M crew!

    Like

  8. I really like your choices, out of the gazillion you had to choose from. I’d add “Caledonia” by Dougie MacLean.

    Speaking of whom, if you ever do songs of the sea, his original version of “Ready for the Storm” is really good. It was covered by Rich Mullins in the States in the 80s or thereabouts, but Dougie’s is the original.

    Like

  9. Great list and love that song, “One Night in Bangkok”. I would add, SAN Francisco sung by Jeanette MacDonald and Judy Garland…separate times of course. Since we are celebrating 150 years, Oh Canada!

    Like

  10. Mt husband, who is from New York City, got the first Ides of March CD out of the library years ago with some extended versions – he loved it. LA Goodbye was not on that album and was new to him. As for your impressive list and your commenters’ additions, I will not add anything except to say I once blogged about a song called Maryland, My Maryland (the state song) which had some pretty interesting Civil War era lyrics in it, until the song was recently revised.

    Like

  11. Some great songs here, and you could probably come up with a hundred if you wanted! Haven’t heard ‘One Night in Bangkok’ for quite a while, such a weird song but strangely catchy.

    A few great songs that come to mind are Freddie Mercury’s ‘Barcelona’, ‘Carolina On My Mind’, and of course ‘Woodstock!’ Which just reminded me of ‘Ohio’ by Neil Young …

    Oh, and McCartney’s ‘London Town’, which brings up ‘Penny Lane’, ‘Blue Jay Way’, ‘Strawberry Fields Forever’ … so many great songs named after places!

    Like

  12. Thank you for all the entertainment WOW, Muddy Waters… Kansas City & 1959 Dude I was only nine that year! hahahaha Ooops I’m showing my age on that one for sure, but I do love me some blues! Oh yeah, rock on!!! Fantastic… sorry I’m so late I’m still playing catch up from when I was sick & in the hospital, but I finally caught up with my email. That was the biggest thing I had to do!!! Woo Hoo Thank you soooooooo very much for sticking it out with me for sure! You’re duh best my friend!! BIG HUGS!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

