Monday’s Music Moves Me: College Fight Songs!

When we did destinations last week, Biker Chick suggested the song “On Wisconsin,” which is both a destination and a university. That made me think that a good theme for today would be college fight songs. Here are ten that I chose because I knew people that went to school there or were in places that I liked.

  1. On Wisconsin! This was the song that started this list. Thanks, Biker Chick!
  2. Notre Dame Fight Song I think every Irish Catholic in the country considers Notre Dame an alma mater of sorts. I had an uncle that went there.
  3. Fighting Illini Fight Song A few of my cousins, my friend Mark, and half my senior class went to Illinois, so I had to include this.
  4. “Glory” (UGA Fight Song) Half my friends from my twenty-year job went here.
  5. Ramblin’ Wreck From Georgia Tech The other half of my friends from that job went here. Plus, a lot of our friends from church have sons and daughters (mostly daughters; who says girls are no good at STEM?) who go here.
  6. Tennessee Fight Song Our co-host Cathy lives nearby, plus I have a cousin who taught there. I’ve been to Knoxville many times and think it’s a great place. Never saw the campus, though.
  7. Auburn Fight Song I used to visit a client in Alexander City, Alabama, and if you got off I-85 and turned the other way you’d find yourself in Auburn. I knew someone who was in their School of Veterinary Medicine. Also Tim Hudson, who played for the Braves, and Frank Thomas, who played for the White Sox, attended here.
  8. Seton Hall Fight Song I have a cousin who lives in New Jersey, and he and his son were Big East basketball fans. I’ve been to a couple of games, one with the cousin and one with his son (who’s also a cousin, I just realized), and had a good time, so I included the Pirates’ fight song here.
  9. Northwestern Fight Song By now you know I spent a couple of undistinguished years as a Wildcat. I was going to say they never won a football game when I was there, but I believe they beat the Oregon Ducks at the end of the 1974 season. Never won another game while I was there, and temporarily held the record for losses in a row. They went to the Rose Bowl a couple of years back, and I had to watch because I just coulodn’t believe they were in it. True to form, they lost.
  10. Hail Loyola! I didn’t realize that my alma mater (BBA January ’78) had a fight song. Shows what I know.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for June 26, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.

Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

32 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: College Fight Songs!”

  1. Hi John,
    This is a neat concept for the 4M’s! That’s funny that you didn’t know your own alma mater had a fight song. Ha!
    I don’t think I ever knew the fight song to my college and your post made me go look it up. Here is Youngstown State University’s fight song, Wave for the Red & White, to cheer on the mighty Penguins. 🙂

    Thanks for taking me back! Those were the days…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. Loyola didn’t have a football team, and you tend to associate fight songs with football. We had a basketball team, but no marching band, so even if we had a fight song, I wouldn’t have known it. Well, I’ve been out for almost 40 years now, and a lot has changed. When I was there it was predominantly a commuter school, now they have dorms all over Chicago, it seems.

      I like your fight song. Love the name The Penguins…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent theme! One of the songs from my high school was to the same tune as Notre Dame Fight song. It went like this: “Beer, Beer for old Rigby High. You bring the Gin, and I’ll bring the Rye. We’ll send somebody out for more, but don’t let the Sophomores! Fight! Fight! Fight! Fight!” Our high school didn’t include Freshmen, as they were considered Middle School or Jr High.

    Like

    1. Weird how they’re splitting up the years in school. When I was going, we had grammar school (grades 1-8) and high school. Now there’s Elementary, Junior High, High School…

      Apparently my high school had a fight song, too, but since I rarely attended any athletic events, I never heard it. For that matter, most of us didn’t. They might have played it at graduation, but I didn’t recognize it.

      Like

  3. If any of the universities that I attended had fight songs, I never knew what they were. I suppose they’re played at sporting events, which I never attended–with the exception of one basketball game at Indiana University, which was quite enjoyable.

    Love,
    Janie

    Like

    1. I never went to any games at Northwestern except for the first of the 1974-75 season, which was against Notre Dame and which, predictably, they lost in spectacular fashion. I worked on Saturday afternoons, and that pre-empted any kind of college life. I went to a lot of Loyola basketball games when I was in grammar school, because the campus was two blocks away and my grandfather was AD at the time. When I lived in the dorm the gym was about 25 feet away and we got in for free, so I went when I could. Several of my neighbors were members of the team, and I had gone to grammar school with one of them, so it was more to see them play than any particular interest in the sport.

      Like

  4. I never went to college. I went to trade school… actually I went twice. Once for cosmetology and I graduated, but it just didn’t make enough money to support myself and my child. 😦 Then when I was about 38 I went back & got my GED and then I went back to school and I became a paralegal because at the time the law fascinated me, and I retired from that. I quit high-school because the black folk were boycotting the high school I went too and were jumping all the white girls and beating them up & I was one of them. So I guess you can say I had a outside education, and much of my schooling I got on the streets of Chicago. 😦 Anyway my friend, so nice talking with you… BIG HUGS And YOU STILL ROCK!!! WOO HOO

    Like

    1. Where did you go to high school? Just curious.

      You were probably better off going to trade schools. To be honest, you can do all the reading that you do in high school and college and learn just as well that way. Picking up marketable skills was a better use of your time. I sometimes wish I had done that.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I lived in Chicago at the time with my family and I went to John F. Kennedy High School on 63rd & Narraganset Ave. Yes, when I was younger I thought the trade school was the best way for me at the time, and when I got older I made the choice what I wanted to do with my life & I’m glad I waited. Not saying it’s for everyone, but for me it was. Thanks for asking John. Happy Fourth & be safe & don’t eat too much! BIG HUGS!

        Like

        1. It looks like it might have moved to 56th and Narragansett since you were there, which is about par for the course. Still way southwest…

          I think all the education experts are starting to realize that maybe school isn’t a one-size-fits-all proposition, but there are so many special interests that put pressure on the politicians to keep things the way they are. If schools were to start offering vocational education (or rather, if they’d go back to offering vocational education), they could do a much better job of serving the communities and the students than they do now. Gee, what a concept…

          Like

  5. No football at my alma mater, Providence College, but Big East basketball. And at this Catholic school, you wouldn’t be surprised to hear “When the Saints Go Marching In.” 😉

    Like

    1. From what I read, the Big East split between the football and non-football schools a couple of years ago. The Jesuits are well-represented (Marquette, Creighton, Georgetown, and Xavier). I think the only non-Catholic school is Butler. Looks like a good conference.

      Like

  6. I went to Norte Dame in Welland, On. …..hated it……major bullying…ughhh. Now on another note…doesn’t Andy Hardy sing a school song or maybe something from the film Good News:)

    Like

    1. I saw “Good News” way back in ’74 at an orientation event and not since, so I don’t recall a fight song, but that would be a movie that would have one. There were a couple in “How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying,” though. I think Robert Morse and Rudy Vallee sing one of them. I’m not familiar with the Andy Hardy movies, so I wouldn’t know about that.

      Like

  7. John,

    Great theme! The University of Tennessee keeps changing and growing. Rocky Top is an excellent Fight Song! We passed through the campus on Sunday. It amazes me every time we go down there. They’re always building something new. If I had the money, I’d love to go back to school and attend UT. It’s a great school! Thanks for sharing the dance floor with the gals!

    Like

    1. Now I remember: I was onsite at the med school long ago (1990 or so). They had their programming people in a converted motel, with each room set up as an office for two. Strange on the one hand, a pretty clever idea on the other.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. And what about The Ohio State University’s fight song? Did we overlook that one? And it’s companion, Hang On Sloopy? If you’re from Ohio these two songs are taught to you in school, regardless if eventually you go to the university. 🙂

    Like

    1. I could spend most of the rest of the year doing college fight songs… maybe I could dedicate a day to each conference, e.g. the SEC, ACC, Big Ten (which is now twelve), Big East, etc. Maybe the colleges I’ve been to for work, of which The Ohio State University is one (others are Western Michgan and Nebraska)…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

