#1LinerWeds from The Comics Curmudgeon

Sorry, comics creators carefully working on the perfect setup-punchline combination: nothing in the funny pages this week will possibly make me laugh more than “That music! Is it ‘Tubthumping’ by Chumbawamba?”

I started reading Josh Fruhlinger’s comics blog The Comics Curmudgeon several years ago. He reads the comics every day, especially the legacy strips (Beetle Bailey, Hi and Lois, Mary Worth, Dick Tracy, etc.), finds several strips about which he can make pithy comments, and publishes both the strip and his comments on his blog, where his fans make equally pithy comments. At the end of each week, Josh selects the comments that made him laugh the hardest and makes one of them the Comment of the Week. This remark was prompted by Dick Tracy the other day.

When you go to visit, spend some time there. You’ll either enjoy yourself or be highly offended.


One-Liner Wednesday is brought to you each week by Linda Hill and this station. Now, a word from our sponsors.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

10 thoughts on “#1LinerWeds from The Comics Curmudgeon”

  1. Ok….I checked out that Dick Tracy strip and that is hilarious and makes me shake my head. The commercial almost made me hurl at the way we are just happy little princesses wearing little frocks, getting married and doing laundry…blecchhhh

    Like

    1. It was 1952; what can I say?

      Dick Tracy has always been a strange cartoon with a bizarre cast of characters, both villains and good guys. It was (and still is) a fixture in the Chicago Tribune, so I read it all the time when I was a kid and just kept reading it into adulthood. The Atlanta newspaper doesn’t carry it, though…

      Like

  2. The Ivory Snow commercial must have been around for a while, because I remember it. 🙂 Thanks for the link, John. I’ll be sure to check out the Curmudgeon. 😀

    Like

    1. The commercial was from 1952, I think, so I can see that it might have played frequently into the Sixties. The comments are almost better than what Josh writes, so be sure to check it out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

