The Friday 5×2: More Destinations By Kip

After last week’s 5×2 (yes, I’ve officially renamed it, and have a new badge and everything), Kip came up with ten more songs with destinations in the title. So, here, with a few changes by yours truly, are Kip’s next ten choices.

  1. They Might Be Giants, “Istanbul (Not Constantinople)” I almost substituted the version by The Four Lads from 1953, but I liked the cartoon that went along with this one.
  2. The Clash, “London Calling” Title track from their 1979 (1980 in the US) album. It reached #11 on the British charts and was named #42 on VH1’s “100 Greatest Songs of the Eighties.”
  3. Quintette du Hot Club de France, “Chicago (That Toddlin’ Town)” Kip suggested “Chicago” by Frank Sinatra, and I didn’t know if he meant this one or “My Kind Of Town (Chicago Is)”. So I decided to pt both of them in, but use this version, winner of my Battle of the Bands all the way back in way back in February 2015. Any excuse to play some Django Reinhardt.
  4. Frank Sinatra, “My Kind Of Town (Chicago Is)” I always associate this one with Ol’ Blue Eyes. It’s from the 1964 movie Robin and the 7 Hoods with Frank, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis, Jr., and Bing Crosby.
  5. Liza Minnelli, “New York, New York” Kip suggested Frank’s version of this one, too, but having seen the 1977 movie with Liza Minnelli and Robert DeNiro, this is the version I like the best. This is a live performance from 1991 in Paris, and there’s just something about her that reminds me of her mother.
  6. Marty Robbins, “Streets of Laredo” Kip’s taste in country is like mine. The tune is that of the Irish tune “The Bard of Armagh,” and it’s a classic cowboy song.
  7. Billy Joel, “New York State Of Mind” I could have sworn someone else suggested this one, but I can’t find where it was recommended. It originally was on his 1976 album Turnstiles, and while it was never released as a single, it’s one of his more popular songs.
  8. Eric Burdon & The Animals, “San Franciscan Nights” From their 1967 release Winds of Change, this went to #7 in the UK, #9 in the US, and #1 in Canada that year.
  9. Terry Stafford, “Amarillo By Morning” Best known for his 1964 release “Suspicion”, Terry’s next album, Say, Has Anybody Seen My Sweet Gypsy Rose?, didn’t come out until 1973, by which time he had re-emerged as a country singer. The second single from that album, it went to #31 on the US Country chart and #38 on the Canadian Country chart.
  10. Freddy “Boom Boom” Cannon, “Tallahassee Lassie” This was Freddy’s first single, from 1959. It rose to #6 on the US Pop chart, #13 on the R&B chart, and #17 in the UK.

Thanks again, Kip! I’m sure you can come up with plenty more.

Monday, we’ll start playing your choices. That’s your Friday 5×2 for July 7, 2017.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

12 thoughts on “The Friday 5×2: More Destinations By Kip”

  1. Love your picks here and I would add” North To Alaska” ” Road to Morocco” as this was in my head this morning. I keep seeing the scene where Bob Hope fluffs the hair of the camel

    Like

  2. John,

    Good playlist. I didn’t know about half of these songs so it was a joy to listen to them. “Istanbul” is sorta catchy sounding. I didn’t watch the vid nor did I watch any. I just let it play while I did some things. “New York New York” might be my favorite on this list, though. It’s such a classic and everyone around the world knows it. Terry Stafford “Amarillo By Morning” is very nice. I like both the artist’s voice and song. I wonder if he’s any relations to Jim Stafford, do you know? Thanks for sharing. Have a good weekend!

    Like

  3. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7 and 10 are all winners for me. Hadn’t heard that particular performance by Liza either, and that was AWESOME. šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Another great selection of destination songs. I’m playing catch up on your posts featuring destination songs. Did I miss Kansas City by Wilburt Harrison and Walking to New Orleans?

    Like

Leave a Reply

