Monday’s Music Moves Me: Your Destination songs, 1

Today I’ll be presenting, for your listening pleasure, ten of the many songs that were suggested by you based on the “Destinations” theme. I got about fifty from you, and every time I feature songs with destinations people come up with more. As Kip said, I could be doing this all year…

  1. Red Hot Chili Peppers, “Dani California” Biker Chick recommended this one. It’s from their ninth studio album, Stadium Arcadium. It was released as a single in April 2006, debuted at #24 on the Hot 100, peaking at #6, the RHCP’s third Top Ten single.
  2. Bridie Gallagher, “Green Glens of Antrim” Uncle Jack suggested I do a list of just locations in Ireland, and gave this song as an example. I’ll do a list of other songs with destinations in Ireland, because there are lots of them.
  3. Toto, “Africa” This was suggested by Janet. From their 1982 album Toto IV. It was released as a single in September of that year, and reached #1 on the Hot 100 in February 1983. Ed Thierbach suggested this cover by Perpetuum Jazzile, and having heard it, I recommend it, too.
  4. R. Dean Taylor, “Indiana Wants Me” Canadian singer-songwriter Taylor wrote and recorded this one in August 1970, and it was a Top Ten hit in both the US and UK, reaching #1 on the Cash Box survey. Arlee suggested this one.
  5. The Feeling, “Blue Piccadilly” Annalisa came up with a few recommendations that I never heard of, mostly because, as everyone knows, I stopped following pop music sometime in the Nineties. This was on their first album, 2006’s Twelve Stops and Home.
  6. Dougie MacLean, “Caledonia” Not the same song as the 1945 jump blues one recorded by Louis Jordan and The Tympani Five (that was “Caldonia”), but a 1977 composition in honor of Scotland (Caledonia was the name given to it by the Romans). The Blogger’s Best Friend says it’s “the most popular of all MacLean’s recordings and something of an anthem for Scotland.” Thanks to Ed for suggesting this.
  7. Dionne Warwick, “Do You Know The Way To San Jose?” Janie suggested this, and it combines the elements for an instant hit: music by Burt Bacharach, lyrics by Hal David, and vocals by Dionne Warwick. It was the followup single to 1968’s “Theme From Valley of the Dolls”/”I Say A Little Prayer” and reached #10 on the Hot 100 and Cash Box chart, #23 on the R&B chart, and #4 on the Easy Listening chart, and won her a Grammy in 1969.
  8. Glenn Miller, “Pennsylvania 6-5000” Calen said this was her favorite, and I think she speaks for a lot of folks. I like it a lot, too. The number is that of the Hotel Pennsylvania, home of the Cafe Rouge, where the Miller band and others played frequently.
  9. Jeanette MacDonald, “San Francisco” Birgit, our resident movie buff, suggested this. It was the theme song for the 1936 movie of the same name, starring Spencer Tracy, Clark Gable, and Miss MacDonald, and was later popularized by Judy Garland.
  10. Bruce Springsteen, “The Streets of Philadelphia” J Lenni Dorner, my fellow A to Z Challenge co-host, recommended this. Springsteen wrote it for the 1993 movie Philadelphia, which starred Tom Hanks and Denzel Washington. As a single, it reahed #9 on the Hot 100 and was a Top Ten hit internationally.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for July 10, 2017. More songs on Friday.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.

Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

28 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Your Destination songs, 1”

  1. Oh I love these destination themes! So many songs with destinations and locations in them. That Red Hot Chili Peppers number is really good. I like it! Love Indiana Wants Me —haven’t heard that in ages! Great song. Dionne Warwick’s Do You Know the Way to San Jose is another one I haven’t heard in a very long time. Springsteen’s Streets of Philadelpia is a fabulous song and was perfect for the movie. That was a Top movie for sure.
    Great set here John.
    Happy Monday!

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  2. John,

    I like how you enlist the help of your readers. At this rate, you’ll have a steady supply of destination songs or any other theme for that matter with others pitching in their suggestions. I enjoyed listening to your playlist while I worked on my daddy’s birthday card. I’m sketching a lone lighthouse on coast peninsula. I sorta imagine its somewhere in Maine. πŸ™‚ There’s a famous lighthouse in Portland Maine which brings me to this song suggestion by Tim McGraw

    Thanks for hitting the dance floor with the 4M gals. Have a songtastic week!

    Like

  3. Hey John, another set of great songs. You picked a good version of Africa and I love Philadelphia (movie and song). Just a little note,
    I don’t usually click on my name when you mention me but when I did this time, it sends me back to this page, not my page. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the mention anyway! Happy Monday!

    Like

    1. I fixed the address thing, and now it looks like the Markdown isn’t being processed. Have a look and tell me if it looks normal or things are surrounded by asterisks and URL’s are contained in parentheses….

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Markdown is a good way to work when typing on a tablet, because instead of having to type the HTML tags, you just type and it gets converted automatically. WordPress supports Markdown (Blogger doesn’t), but the WordPress app has this nasty habit of replacing HTML with stuff it likes better when typing on a tablet, and that’s what happened.

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Next to love, I think more songs are written about places and traveling. I’ll probably end up doing a whole post just on songs about places in Ireland, and maybe a pipes-and-drums post of tunes written about places the Scottish regiments in the British Army have had battles.

      Like

  4. Oh wow…thanks using my pick:) I bet very few know Ms. McDonald:) This was a good week that made me think…my hubby can see the smoke come out of my ears

    Like

    1. I know she and Nelson Eddy sang together in a few movies (I have the image of him as a Mountie singing “Indian Love Call” to her). Most people knew the Judy Garland version, so I wanted to use Jeanette’s instead.

      Like

  5. Dude, all I got to say is you surely know your music. I never even heard that tune from The Red Hot Chili Peppers. Awesome! Thank you so much for playing along today. You are just a bottomless pit of information aren’t you!?! Glad I know ya my friend!

    Like

    1. All the songs were chosen by my readers. I wouldn’t have known the one by the RHCP if Biker Chick hadn’t included it. Likewise “Blue Piccadilly”: I had never even heard of The Feeling until Annalisa suggested the song. I have a whole bunch more, so stay tuned.

      Like

  6. Great theme with endless possibilities! πŸ™‚ I’m enjoying your playlist, especially “Indiana Wants Me”, for the memories it brings back. Are you still adding to your list? One destination song that always comes to mind is “Port of Amsterdam”. The original was by Jacques Briel, but David Bowie’s cover is also good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

