Two for Tuesday: The Partridge Family (High School Days)

Don’t shoot me, I’m just the messenger. The next group on my list is The Partridge Family, which placed three songs in the Top Ten and spent a total of eighteen weeks there.

The Partridge Family on TV included Susan Dey, Danny Bonaduce, Suzanne Crough, and Jeremy Gelbwax (who was replaced by Brian Forster after the first season) in addition to Shirley Jones and her stepson, David Cassidy. On the records, it was just Shirley and David in the studio with session musicians (I would guess one or more members of the Wrecking Crew accompanied them).

By far, the band’s most-popular record was “I Think I Love You,” which entered the Top Ten in November 1970 and spent eleven weeks there, peaking at #1 and selling about five million records.

Their followup record was “Doesn’t Somebody Want To Be Wanted,” which reached the Top Ten in March 1971 and spent six weeks there, reaching #6. A side note: this was the record that was playing on WOWO-AM in Fort Wayne, Indiana the day someone sent the wrong message across the Emergency Broadcast System and put the nation on high alert (listen here).

The Partridge Family was very popular among the “tween” set during the early Seventies, which didn’t sit well with David Cassidy, who felt stifled by his teen idol status. He appeared naked on the cover of Rolling Stone in an effort to shake his squeaky-clean image. The show lasted four years on television, and the Partridges released 9 albums in that pertiod of time. Recently, David announced he was in the early stages of dementia.

The Partridge Family, your Two for Tuesday, July 11, 2017.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

22 thoughts on “Two for Tuesday: The Partridge Family (High School Days)”

  1. As tween in the 1970s I loved this stroll down memory lane though it was bad boy Danny Bonaduce that I had a crush on. Very sad to hear about David. Dementia is devastating.

    Like

  2. I always watched their show along with The Brady Bunch as they followed one another…when I watched it which was mainly in reruns. My brother had that album with the cover looking like their bus. He was happy to get rid of it when he was in his early 20’s but that year I found a copy and wrapped it up for him for Christmas. When I took sessions about dementia, Alzheimer’s being one dementia, there are several different types of dementia and one is alcohol induced dementia. I can’t help but think this is what he suffers from. What a sad ending to someone who has/had so much talent.

    Like

    1. I think it was the other way around when it ran on ABC in the US, but don’t hold me to that. For those of us that didn’t have a social life in high school, it was Friday night.

      I have no doubt David’s dementia is a result of his drinking.

      Like

  3. Yes, I watched. Had a crush (of course) on David. Even had pictures on my wall from teen magazines…I did not remember Doesn’t Somebody Want to Be Wanted. Very sad about his dementia. I heard him say it was hereditary, he just was taking care of his mother who suffered from it. Of course alcohol doesn’t help that situation either. Thanks John.

    Like

  4. I wasn’t wild about the show, but I thought David Cassidy was pretty darn cute. I remember Shirley Jones saying in an interview that Danny Bonaduce had a horrible home life, so they teamed up to give him a place to go on the weekends other than at home with his parents. He ended up spending a lot of time with the actor who played their manager.

    Love,
    Janie

    Like

  5. I liked the Partridge Family because, hey, it was kids around my age singing! (Lip syncing hadn’t crossed my mind yet.) I think they helped feed my desire to make music. Nobody to crush on, though – Tracy was too young, and Laurie was too old and not my type anyway. I was much more a Jan Brady guy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. I have that first album. I have another one, but I don’t think it’s the second one you showed here. I do definitely remember the song “Doesn’t Somebody Want to Be Wanted”. I just listened to “I Think I Love You” and “I Can Hear Your Heartbeat” just the other day. I love Spotify. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. I’m not a fan of Spotify, myself, but I listen to iHeart and TuneIn and coud probably achieve the same effect.

      The music might have been sappy and whatever, but it was fun nonetheless. Wonder what you could get for the album today?

      Like

Leave a Reply

