BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Galway Bay”

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

In today’s battle, I’m going to present you with two different songs with the same name and have you decide which of the two you prefer.

There are two different songs called “Galway Bay,” with one being more popular in Ireland and the other more popular outside it.

CONTESTANT #1: Version more popular in Ireland Also known as “My Own Dear Galway Bay,” it was composed by Frank Fahy, a resident of Kinvara, Co. Galway. The music was composed by Tony Small, although it was originally written to the tune of “Skibbereen”. Here it’s performed by Dolores Keane, whose version is one of the better-known ones.

CONTESTANT #2: Version more popular outside Ireland As I mentioned yesterday, when I included Johnny Cash’s version of it, this was written by Dr. Arthur Colahan in 1947. This is Bing Crosby’s version; he changed some of the lyrics to make it less political.

All right, we have two different songs here with the same name. Which of the two of them do you prefer? Listen to both, decide which you prefer, and vote in the comments along with why you chose that one. Then, head over to Stephen T. McCarthy’s blog, where he has the current list of participants, and vote in the other battles being held today. I’ll count the votes and declare the winner next Saturday, July 22, so have your vote in before then.

The lines are now open. Best of luck to Mr. Fahy and Dr. Colahan, and to Dolores and Bing!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

13 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Galway Bay””

  1. Hi John. I like the one that is popular in Ireland. There’s something about Irish music that I find appealing.
    Have a great Sunday.

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll go with Bing Crosby. My reason? It’s simply the version I have heard over the US airwaves for more years than I care to count. It would be interesting to run this same contest in Ireland: wonder who would win. I tried to see if Celtic Thunder had ever done this song but didn’t find it. They have done a song called “Galway Girl” which is very good. Your have a bit of Galway in your ancestry on your mother’s side.

    Like

  3. Bing for me, hands down! I just love this version even if he changed the lyrics. I have to say the lady has a great voice…and beautiful hair!

    Like

  4. Yep, I’m-a gonna go with BING, too. For one thing, I generally prefer male vocalists. Also, that heavy Irish accent in songs seems like vinegar to my ears. I kind of like it spoken, but not singing. Don’t know why that is, but it is.

    ~ D-FensDogG
    [Link:) Stephen T. McCarthy Reviews…

    Like

Leave a Reply

