Monday’s Music Moves Me: Top Ten From WLS, July 21, 1962

We haven’t done a survey post in a while, so let’s take a look at the WLS Silver Dollar Survey from July 21, 1962, this week 55 years ago.

  • #10: Pat Boone, “Speedy Gonzales” Pat first came to fame by doing “white” versions of songs by Fats Domino and Little Richard, back in the dark ages when radio stations were hesitant to play “race” records. You really can’t hold it against him, it was the times. This is a novelty record that jumped from #15 the week before, so it was #10 with a bullet…
  • #9: Bobby Curtola, “Fortune Teller” Bobby Curtola was a Canadian crooner and teen idol. His record had been on the survey for ten weeks and was on its way down.
  • #8: The Orlons, “The Wah Watusi” So, we have The Nylons and The Orlons. One has to ask, what’s next, the Dacrons? This was making its descent after seven weeks.
  • #7: Bobby Rydell, “I’ll Never Dance Again” Teen idol Bobby held the #8 spot the week before, so he was still making his way upward.
  • #6: David Rose & His Orchestra, “The Stripper” David Rose was a London-born orchestra leader and composer who composed “The Stripper.” I think most of us of a certain age remember this being part of Noxzema Shaving Cream commercials…
  • #5: Emilio Pericoli, “Al Di La” Enrico was an Italian singer who covered this song, the song that won the Sanremo Festival the year before when Betty Curtis sang it. He entered the Sanremo Festival that year with the song “Quando, Quando, Quando,” which has become one of the best-known Italian songs. In 1963, he entered the Sanremo Festival again with the song “Uno Per Tutte,” which won that year and earned him a spot in the Eurovision Song Contest, where he placed third.
  • #4: Joanie Sommers, “Johnny Get Angry” Joanie’s typical milieu is jazz, standards, and popular material, but this was a hit for her. I especially like the kazoo break halfway through.
  • #3: Neil Sedaka, “Breaking Up Is Hard To Do” One of Neil’s better-known songs. This is the original version, not the late Seventies reboot that was slower and moodier.
  • #2: Bobby Vinton, “Roses Are Red” Bit of music trivia: Bobby and Perry Como are both from Canonsburg, Pennsylvania.
  • #1: Brian Hyland, “Sealed With A Kiss” Brian was pretty much known for “Itsy-Bitsy, Teenie-Weenie, Yellow Polka-Dot Bikini” from a couple of years earlier, but this sold better. He was a victim of the British Invasion a couple of years later, but came back in the early Seventies with a cover of Curtis Mayfield’s “Gypsy Woman.”

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for July 24, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

14 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Top Ten From WLS, July 21, 1962”

  1. John,

    What a funny tune by Pat Boone! lol I always liked Speedy Gonzales from Saturday morning cartoons. 😀 I remember Neil Sedaka’s “Breaking Up Is Hard To Do” reboot very well but I have heard his original version before. I’m not sure which I like the most because both renditions are good. He sure did have some classic hits that either he did or other artists. Great playlist for “your freebie” mewsic selections to get this gal boogieing in her chair this afternoon. Have a dancetastic week, my friend!

    Like

  2. Hi John – those songs bring back memories … and I mentioned Speedy Gonzales to my mother during her last years and we had a good laugh about his name … I mentioned him in a post about William the Conqueror having to skirt round what is now infill of Pevensey Bay … in full armour … to set a place for the Battle of Hastings – at what is now known as Battle. But Pat Boone, and the others … great memories – thank you – cheers Hilary

    Like

  3. Wonderful playlist! I’ve got it playing and will enjoy it for most of the day. It’s all from just a little bit before my time, but great music is timeless. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. Ohhhhh hahahahahahaha What’s even funnier is I remember this tune! Pat Boone really had some strange selections. I think he had a hard time with accepting getting old & not having a no. 1 tune. This tune was very popular though I have to admit & I have to admit listening to these tunes I feel like a little kid again listening to music by my brother’s door again. My big brother always played tunes on his record player and played the guitar with them. Oh hahaha Wah Tusi I always thought that was the funnies name for a tune & when I saw my brother trying to do it it was even funnier… Well, time for the grocery story and then house chores. Today I have the luxury of washing out the frig! eeeeeeeeeeuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu Have a great week John and thanks for the walk down memory lane. BIG HUGS.

    Like

    1. Pat had a few #1’s, “Ain’t That A Shame,” “Love Letters In The Sand,” “April Love” and one or two others, and had a streak of about four years where he had at least one single in the Top 40 (Thank you, Blogger’s Best Friend), but by this time he was slipping into obscurity. Kind of a shame, because he had a great voice. I think he was moving toward Christian music by that point…. I think Mel Blanc did Speedy in the song like he did in the cartoons.

      Like

  5. Hey, I’m going to share your playlist with my mom: July 21st is her birthday and back in ’62 she was pregnant with me. I popped out less than 2 months later (September 6th). When you wrote “this week 55 years ago” I was like, Wait! I’m going to be 55?? I thought I was going to be 54! Shit, I lost a year somewhere along the way… Thanks for the reality check John! 🙂

    I like the #1 song that week, Sealed with a Kiss. And my 2nd fav is Rydell’s “I’ll Never Dance Again.”
    RE: Neil Sedaka: I didn’t know he did two versions of Breaking Up is Hard to Do. Naturally I remember the later one. But after listening to the ’62 one, both are good.
    Speedy Gonzales: “They’re giving away green stamps with the tequila.” hahaha. I had no idea it was a song! I remember the cartoon from Saturday mornings… And I sure remember Green Stamps! That was all the rage back then. I remember getting the stamps and filling the books and it was so fun to go cash them in for something really cool. My aunt used to save them like crazy.
    I like the Wah Watusi. That’s a neat song. I think I remember seeing the dance at some point but can’t really recall. Why do I think it’s connected with a Dick Van Dyke Show episode??
    And who doesn’t love a little Stripper! That’s some great music there. Is this the Noxema commercial from that year that you mentioned? Or were there a series of them using the song? This one is with the Swedish model Gunilla Knutson… The YouTube video says it’s from 1967.

    Great playlist from my birthday year!

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. My father-in-law’s brother worked for S&H for many years. They were based in Chicago, so yes, we knew all about them. We used to get the stamps at National Food Stores and many other places. Thaty’s when I learned to use a damp sponge to wet the back rather than licking them… Allan Sherman had a song parody called “Green Stamps,” based on the song “Green Eyes”…

      The Noxzema campaign with the gorgeous Ms. Knutson ran around ’67 or so. It was a big hit with us 5th- and 6th-graders, and we’d go around humming the song…

      Like

  6. Let’s see. In 1962 I was in 4th grade. What a bunch of memories. The Stripper. Sealed with a Kiss. Roses are Red, my love, violets are blue…but you know what, I don’t think I ever heard this Pat Boone song. What a start to the day – what a funny song! I fear I hear an earworm setting up…

    Like

    1. I never heard it, either, but it was apparently very popular at one time (#6 nationally). I didn’t get my first radio until ’63 or ’64, and it wasn’t played as an oldie when I could hear it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

