Monday’s Music Moves Me: Songs That Start With J

I saw the theme for today, “songs that begin with the first letter of your name,” and wondered if I could think of ten. Don’t worry, I did.

  1. Little Walter, “Juke” Little Walter was Muddy Waters’s harmonica player, and had a successful solo career. This was his first single on the Checker label (associated with Chicago’s Chess Records). This one hit the R&B chart in 1952 and stayed there for twenty weeks, and it’s considered a blues harmonica standard.
  2. Hank Williams, “Jambalaya (On The Bayou)” One of Hank’s best-known songs, this was also released in 1952 and features Chet Atkins on guitar.
  3. Looking Glass, “Jimmy Loves Mary Anne”” The follow-up single to “Brandy (You’re A Fine Girl),” this was the first track on their second and final album, 1973’s Subway Serenade. It spent almost as much time on the chart as did “Brandy” (15 weeks), but only reached #33 on the Hot 100 and #31 on the Cash Box survey. It reached #2 on WLS, which played it frequently.
  4. Steve Miller Band, “Jet Airliner” I was in the process of listening to Steve’s song “The Joker,” saw this one, and decided to use it instead. It reached #8 on the Hot 100 and #3 on Cash Box in 1977.
  5. Allman Brothers Band, “Jessica” From their 1973 album, it was written by Dickie Betts as a tribute to Django Reinhardt, as it was designed to be played using two fingers of the left hand (thus spake Wikipedia). The followup to “Ramblin’ Man,” it did nowhere near as well, only reaching #65 on the Hot 100 and #29 on the Easy Listening chart. Nevertheless, it’s a favorite of classic rock stations, because at seven minutes plus, it gives the DJ time to run to the bathroom.
  6. Rick Springfield, “Jessie’s Girl” Rick is a multitalented guy who was an actor as well as musician. In fact, this single came out about the same time that he first appeared on the soap opera General Hospital as Dr. Noah Drake. He took the acting job because RCA, his label at the time, didn’t expect his 1981 album Working Class Dog, from which this comes, to do all that well. It peaked at #1 for two weeks on the Hot 100 and earned him a Grammy for Best Male Vocal Performnce. Showed them, didn’t he?
  7. The Glenn Miller Orchestra with Marion Hutton, Tex Beneke, and The Modernaires, “Jukebox Saturday Night” When I lived at home, we had an album of greatest hits from the Swing Era that I liked to listen to, and this was one of them. This was a hit in 1942. Marion Hutton, incidentally, is the sister of actress Betty Hutton.
  8. Dolly Parton and Pentatonix, “Jolene” Sorry, Joey, but the song does start with the letter J and, besides, in the words of one of the commenters, it’s “the collab I never knew I wanted until now.” Seriously, it’s gorgeous. Pentatonix might be my favorite group since 1995, and their work on this track is superb.
  9. Chicago, “Just You ‘n’ Me” This was the second single from Chicago’s sixth album (you can guess the name, can’t you?) in 1973, and did better than “Feelin’ Stronger Every Day,” the first. James Pankow wrote it, Peter Cetera sings it, Terry Kath plays a phase-shifted guitar with wah-wah pedal, and Walt Parazaider has a remarkable soprano sax solo toward the end. Wikipedia informs me this was the last song WLS played as a rock station before going all-talk.
  10. Patsy Cline, “Just A Closer Walk With Thee” This is a traditional gospel song that might have been written before the Civil War and has been covered hundreds, maybe even thousands of times. That Patsy Cline sang it made my day.

You’ll note this is a diverse list, with rock, country, country rock, blues, and big band. Hope you enjoyed it. That’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for July 31, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

32 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Songs That Start With J”

  1. FWIW, “Jessica” was also used as the theme song (ahem, “signature tune”) for the British TV show “Top Gear”. That’s actually the first place I heard it; somehow I managed to miss it on the radio all these years.

    Like

  2. When we first played Just You ‘n’ Me onstage, I had to count out loud at the end of the vocal bridge that follows the sax solo to gets us back into the final verse. I think our drummer Ron Rysell knew where we were, but everyone else would get a little lost. I loved playing and singing that one.

    Like

    1. There’s a little syncopation at the end of the sax solo, and drummers always seem to get that better than the rest of us. Dave Glass, the Constables, and I used to jam around with a drummer from Loyola Academy, Dan Linton, and he was the only one who could keep us straight on Blind Faith’s “Do What You Like,” which is in 5/4 time. Rhino’s liner notes for Chicago VII quote Jim Pankow saying they learned all about odd time signatures in school, and never messed with them until “Devil’s Sweet,” which was Dan Seraphine’s only songwriting credit until then. He was the only one that could switch from 5/4 to 7/4 and back again… I don’t think drummers get enough credit.

      Like

  3. I like that first song..jazzy with a little blues…fun to listen to. Good ole Rick Springfield has really has taken that song and stretched his career as much as he can. He came back to GH for a while. I would add, Jailhouse Rock by Elvis, Jack and Diane by John Mellancamp and I love Jealousy from the 1940’s (?) with singing and just instrumental.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just thought of a fun “J” song – Barry Manilow’s “Jump Shout Boogie”. Not the typical maudlin Manilow. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Jubilous Job, John! I would add the Stones ‘Jumpin’ Jack Flash’ , Aerosmith’s ‘Janie’s Got a Gun’, and Carrie Underwood’s ‘Jesus Take the Wheel’.

    Like

  5. Argh on Jolene, but it’s inevitable. Jailhouse Rock, Just Like Starting Over, Jet Airliner, Jack & Diane, Just Like Heaven and of course, one of my already covered faves, Jump Around! πŸ˜›

    Like

  6. John,

    You an interesting mesh of “J” songs. The real old ones (tracks 1 and 7) are a first for me. The mewsic from the 70s totally rocks. I loved “Jet Airliner”. Patsy Cline did a beautiful job on the old gospel hymn, “Just A Closer Walk To Thee”. My parents and grandparents sang this song often in church when I was a kid and it brings back some fond memories of listening to them. Gosh, I miss my grandpa & grandma a lot! Thanks for joining the 4M crew on the dance floor, my friend!

    Like

  7. Excellent list of songs here John. I’m really excited to get turned onto Looking Glass’ Jimmy Loves MaryAnn. I never heard it before and it’s a dang good song! Brandy has always been a favorite of mine but I never went any farther into Looking Glass’s body of work. I really like this new-to-me song.
    Naturally I love all the other rock songs.
    I really enjoyed Dolly and Pentatonix teaming up on Jolene. Those Pentatonix folks are impressive.
    Patsy Cline has a beautiful voice. She reminds me of my Aunt Judy, who used to sing her songs all the time. She too had a beautiful voice.
    I think my favorite of all in your playlist is Chicago’s Just You ‘n Me. It almost gives me chills. Such a great band.

    Great playlist John. Some really good J songs…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

Leave a Reply

