Manic Monday: My Sentimental Journey

Today’s theme for Manic Monday is “Sentimental Journey”. That was the title of Ringo Starr’s first and sadly-forgotten solo album from 1970.

I had a copy of the album that someone got for me, and being 14 at the time, I listened to it a couple of times and put it in with my mother’s records. Now I wish I hadn’t. Fortunately, a YouTube user named Leroy Luzardo ripped the album and posted it all in a playlist. (Well, except for “Bye Bye Blackbird,” which has been “blocked by Warner Chappell on copyright grounds.” There may be others.) I think, as I’ve gotten older, I’ve gained a new appreciation for the kind of music my folks listened to. With the amount of music I’ve posted here, you probably figured that out. Maybe that was Ringo’s reason for making this his first album: he gained a new appreciation for the music he grew up with, and wanted to share it with the world.

I read back over the early posts on this blog and cringe. Was I really so serious about being a great fiction writer? Turns out, I wasn’t, though you couldn’t convince me of that at the time. When I realized that all the writing I did was for the blog, I gave that all up. And yet, through the blog, I’ve learned that I love to write, just not fiction. Well, not intentionally, anyway; I realize that, as I tell the stories of my early life, they probably aren’t exactly the way they happened. Time has a way of taking out the awful moments, welding multiple stories into an amalgam of things that sound like they go well together. As far as I’m concerned, they’re true. They’re the things I see on my own sentimental journey.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

14 thoughts on “Manic Monday: My Sentimental Journey”

  1. I love this song. Now, personally, I’d rather hear Ella or Sinatra, or even Doris Day singing it — Actually, I sing it really well myself, and a lot, not that anyone pays me to 😉
    But I love the way you’ve used it to segue into your own sentimental journey 🙂

    Like

    1. Sandi had Doris Day’s version in her post the other day, so I didn’t want to use it again. There are lots of people who can do it better than Ringo, but his was the one that took me the furthest.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. If you want to learn a little more about writing and being a writer you may enjoy reading Camino Island by John Grisham. It’s fiction, of course, but it’s a mystery involving writers and I learned quite a bit about writers, different genres, and the publishing business. I think, as you know, you should write a book. As an avid consumer of books, what you write, and how you write, is a lot more interesting than much of what I read.

    Like

  3. I’ve always enjoyed this song. I saw the theme posted and wondered what others would do for it. I just started following this particular hop, but have not yet joined in. Perhaps one day I will.

    Like

    1. So far it’s a lot of fun. A bit of a stretch sometimes to come up with something that fits my writing style (i.e. “my train of thought hopped the tracks”), but I’m getting better. Give it a go…

      Like

  4. I’m afraid my own early memories are more like this –
    “I don’t need your war machines, I don’t need your ghetto scenes.
    Colored lights can hypnotize, sparkle someone else’s eyes.”

    I heard my brother’s stories of interracial violence and demonstrations on the U of I campus in Champaign-Urbana, and I saw what Mr. Daley had Chicago police doing during the 1968 Democratic converntion. I worried about being drafted until they ended the Vietnam war and the draft just before we were eligible.

    By the time I got to U of I in Champaign-Urbana, the focus was way different. I was more concerned with how I was going to get decent grades with a 17 semester hour load, writing music on the cigarette-burned and out-of-tune dorm piano, and keeping my mini-fridge stocked with beer.

    I dismissed Ringo’s solo effort as something my parents might listen to (if my dad listened to anything besides baroque classical, which was pretty much all he listened to), and got into Chicago, ELP, Jethro Tull, and the Who. It could never have too many chords for me.

    Like

    1. It’s only now that I can appreciate Ringo’s first solo album. It originally blew my mind… “What the hell is he doing all this old stuff for?” Of course, Chicago’s done an album or two of Big Band music…

      Like

  5. John,

    I believe I’m like you where it comes to being that great fiction writer. I don’t think I have what it takes to write for literary publication but I always knew I had a tremendous fondness for writing, which I discovered when I got into pen-palling years ago. With the explosion of email, social media, and other Internet interest then this passion got replaced in my life but I was still drawn to share my thoughts through words.

    You’re right I think we remember things in a more flowery and often times positive frame of mind of things long forgotten but that really isn’t such a bad thing. I much rather think of happiness than sadness any day. Your tie in with Ringo’s retro-style album (I listened to the whole YouTube playlist) with your own Sentimental Journal worked purrfectly and it introduced me to a new side of one of the moppy top Brits who took America by storm in the mid-60s.

    Have a sentimentastical week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

