Monday’s Music Moves Me: Dance Moves!

Let me preface this by saying I am not a dancer (and Marie, don’t try and tell me I am). I detail my misadventures on the dance floor here in a piece I wrote for the 2012 A to Z Challenge. That said, here are eleven songs about dances and moves.

  1. Traveling Wilburys, “Wilbury Twist” The last song on The Traveling Wilburys’ second album, Traveling Wilburys Vol. 3. John Candy makes a cameo appearance here.
  2. Rolling Stones, “Harlem Shuffle” The Stones covered this on their 1986 album Dirty Work. It was done originally by the duo Bob & Earl in 1963.
  3. The Blues Brothers featuring Ray Charles, “Shake A Tail Feather” I’ve actually walked past the building with the mural on it, on East 47th Street in Chicago, though I don’t think it was a pawn shop. From the 1980 movie The Blues Brothers, as if I had to tell you.
  4. Rufus Thomas, “Do The Funky Chicken” Come on, you and I both know you can’t talk about songs with dances in the title and not talk about Rufus. Taken from the 1972 movie Wattstax.
  5. Chubby Checker, “Limbo Rock” Chubby’s pretty famous for his songs about dance moves, especially “The Twist,” so I thought I shouldn’t do that one. This was almost as popular.
  6. Cast of The Rocky Horror Picture Show, “Time Warp” I first heard this on a Dr. Demento album long before I saw the video for it, and the rest is history.
  7. PSY, “Gangnam Style” Might not be a dance per se, but there’s tons of dancing in this and it’s been watched close to three billion times, so I’m counting it. The young lady in the video is Hyuna, from the K-Pop group 4Minute, in case you were curious (I was).
  8. Bobby “Boris” Pickett and The Crypt-Kickers, “Monster Mash” The classic Hallowe’en song that was recorded in May 1962 and released 55 years ago last Friday.
  9. Los Del Rio, “Macarena” The song we all love to hate, this was really popular in 1996 and made temporary stars of Los Del Rio.
  10. Lou Bega, “Mambo No. 5” A hilarious, and somewhat culturally-insensitive, take-off on this song can be found here.
  11. Frankie Yankovic, “Beer Barrel Polka” I’m from Chicago, Mary (who’s Lithuanian) played the accordion, my sister-in-law is Polish, I had to do a polka, even though, as my sister-in-law would tell you, the polka is not a Polish dance and Yankovic isn’t Polish, either (he’s Slovene).

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for August 28, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

31 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Dance Moves!”

  1. Love these and I have danced to these and many more. I do love Gangnam Style and it always makes me smile and Mambo #5 makes me wish I knew how to swing. I would add Twist and Shout by the Beatles, Stray Cat Strut and Rock This Town by the Stray Cats, almost all of the songs from Bat Out of Hell by Meat Loaf, plus most anything from the ’80’s since that was my time to party

    Like

  2. I’m not much of a dancer, either, John. I have fond memories of the “Beer Barrel Polka” from growing up in Pittsburgh. It seemed like that made the playlist at every gathering.

    Like

    1. I’m sure it would… hearing polka music makes me a little homesick, even though I had no idea what I was doing on the dance floor, and you know how people fly around the dance floor when they polka…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, ya.. . das ist der Lichtensteiner polka, mein Schotts, polka, mein Schotts, polka, mein Schotts….

    I heard this almost every day over the PA at Boy Scout Camp Macajawan near Rhinelander, Wisconsin. And we still didn’t dance to it – most of us just slapped mosquitos instead.

    I always liked Chicago’s instrumental Mongonucleosis for dancing.

    Like

    1. We had friends in the old neighborhood that had a cabin in Eagle River near the Northernaire Hotel. We had to use an outhouse during the day because the plumbing was suspect, and they had hung a “Schnitzelbank” poster in there. I had heard the melody, and would end up singing it… “Ist das nicht ein fette zau? Ja, das ist ein fette zau! Ist das nicht ein dicke frau? Ja, das ist ein dicke frau! O du schöner, o du wand, ja das ist ein schnitzelbank…”

      I wish NTW offered German…

      Like

  4. Great songs. I especially liked hearing Rufus Thomas. We used to hear him sing Old Man River every year during the Memphis in May out door concert. It was sad when he died, but his daughter, Carla, is quite visible in Memphis, too.

    Like

    1. A lot of supergroups like The Wilburys don’t work so well because everyone wants to go in their own direction, but they had amazing chemistry. Not sure how it all came together, but my guess is Jeff Lynne and George Harrison came up with the idea, mostly because I can see the humor behind the whole thing…

      Like

  5. I love to dance and when I hear music, I can’t sit down. This reminds of a couple of oldies – Booker T. and the MG’s- You Can’t Sit down – 1962 and The Dovells – You Can’t Sit Down – 2004.

    Like

  6. John,

    I like to dance but I’m not great at it. When the mewsic plays my body can’t help but move. 🙂 I enjoyed the “Wilbury Twist” featuring John Candy. Your dance moves playlist is an impressive fun compilation of fabulous tunes. Great to share the dance floor with you and surprisingly, you did not step on my toes. 😉 lol

    Like

  7. Great collection here John! I’m listening to the Beer Barrel Polka right now: it always reminds me of my Dad. He LOVED polkas! I don’t know if it had anything to do with him being Czech?? But he sure enjoyed that music.
    OMG, Combo #5 is HILARIOUS!!! Thanks for linking to that. What a good laugh.
    And guess what I didn’t realize? I didn’t know that Susan Sarandon was in Rocky Horror until I just watched your clip. I just never paid much attention to it before. I wasn’t part of the cult following. I had a good friend who used to go see it all the time and she kept telling me what a blast it was and how the audience throws things, etc. It was a midnight show on the weekends and I never made it to see it.
    I love the Traveling Wilburys and the Wilbury Twist is fun. Was cool to see John Candy again.
    Also great Blues Brothers clip.
    Two that were new to me: the Funky Chicken (funny!) and Chubby Checker’s Limbo Twist.

    Fun post. Have a great week John.

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. The polka, per Wikipedia, started in Bohemia in the Czech Republic, and most of the people of Northern (especially Eastern) Europe do it. That would explain your Dad’s love for it. I’m amazed that no one gets killed on the dance floor, the way they go flying around. It’s a thing of beauty to watch when the dancers know what they’re doing.

      I’m surprised you never heard ol’ Rufus. He was a funny guy and had a lot of fun doing the dances, even if he was a bit clumsy at times.

      I love that “Combo No. 5,” probably more than the original tune. I think it’s the cartoon. A friend of mine was talking about it, but didn’t want to share it because it’s terribly insensitive, but I don’t think it was done to be mean, and besides, we had a Chinese restaurant in our old neighborhood where, I swear, the guy talked just like that…

      Like

Leave a Reply

