#1LinerWeds about Facebook

Amazon announced the other day that some of its features, such as booklists, notes, and highlights will be moving to Goodreads and will no longer be available on Amazon’s Kindle site after August 31 (i.e. tomorrow). I’ve tried Goodreads in the past, and I don’t have much use for it. One silver lining to all of this is that, in order to facilitate the move, Amazon is offering, at long last, a mechanism for unloading a list of the contents of your Kindle library to a .csv file that can be imported into Goodreads, or for that matter opened in Excel or OpenOffice or be loaded into a MySQL database. I say “at long last” because we’ve only been asking for that functionality for as many years as the Kindle has been around.

I have been wanting this for some time, because Mary and I share a rather large Kindle library and roughly 90% of the books in it are books she has bought, and I’ve managed, for one reason or another, to lose track of the books that I’ve added to it. Now I can find them. Huzzah!

Today’s one-liner comes from a freebie (I’m pretty sure, anyway) I can’t remember downloading (I’m sure Mary didn’t).

Be sure and get your booklist from Amazon by tomorrow, because I’m sure that the tool magically disappears after that.


One-Liner Wednesday is brought to you each week by Linda Hill and this station. Now a word from Studebaker.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

30 thoughts on “#1LinerWeds about Facebook”

  1. It is so hard to keep up with technology. Facebook, and most of (anti-)social media, frustrates me with its negativity. I like blogging because it feels more tangible, though I have connected with a couple of scary bloggers. sigh

    Like

  2. Thanks for this heads-up, John. I rarely take notes, but would like to keep the ones I made, especially in NOLS Wilderness Medicine. They help when I study for wilderness first responder (WFR) recertification every two years.

    Like

    1. I use the highlighting feature a lot, but don’t make many notes. I’m not exactly sure what’s going to happen to those, whether they’ll be merged into Goodreads or kept on the Amazon site (they moved the page, but the highlights and notes are still there, at least for now) or be migrated to Goodreads. The letter implies they’ll be migrated, but the new page looks like a permanent one and it has been updated with highlights I added yesterday. If I ask and actually get an answer, I’ll let everyone know.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I don’t have kindle as I love the actual physical book but I do get going with one device and reading a book when one is on an airplane or something. I’m glad you are able to separate your books from your wife’s which is a good thing:)

    Like

    1. It’s a two-edged sword: I’m starting to see how much crap I bought (or more likely downloaded because it was free). I have trouble handling physical books, so the Kindle has been a Godsend.

      Like

      1. I never thought of that! Yes, for people who have difficulty in holding a book it creates more freedom actually and I would feel so happy that I could read a book if I had trouble holding one

        Like

  4. I have Kindle for PC, of course, but I actually do most of my Kindle reading on Moo’s Kindle while she’s at school. I still prefer analogs, but who can beat the price on a Kindle book? I’m glad you’re getting a new format, and that you’ll rediscover books you meant to read 🙂
    I don’t get on Facebook a lot, I rarely post. When I do, it’s the same 20 or so people who like or comment. When I was on more, and posted more, it was more like 50. But I feel like those 20 people really count! 😉

    Like

    1. The list will be helpful, for certain. Whether Amazon plans on keeping it up-to-date (i.e. drop the appropriate info into Goodreads when Mary or I buy a new book) remains to be seen. Goodreads has an export function that I could use to keep my database in sync with them, provided Amazon keeps it updated. I think I’ll ask… Wish me luck.

      Like

  5. Yes, the negativity on Facebook since the election has never really let up. I still use it but 1/2 the time it is to play games 🙂 or to post in my groups which is mostly people having fun.

    Like

    1. I don’t feel comfortable dropping it altogether, because my aunts and cousins are all there and it keeps me in the loop with them, and there are a few groups I really enjoy (music, nostalgia, Chicago, etc.). Right now that’s the only value to me.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I am an avid user of kindle. I feel that after reading your post I SHOULD DO SOMETHING – QUICK! Trouble is I have no idea what you’re talking about.

    Like

    1. I wouldn’t worry about it. Evidently you could also rate books and get into discussions with people about them on Amazon, and they decided to take that functionality out of Amazon and merge it with Goodreads, which was set up to do that in the first place. I do a lot of highlighting and putting notes in books, and that’s when I found out about the move. The letter says that all of it (book lists, highlights, and notes) is moving to Goodreads, and they offered the file (an export of all Amazon book purchases from pretty close to the opening of Amazon, because I’m seeing books I bought twenty years ago) as a way to establish yourself over at Goodreads, where you can import the file. Whether they intend to keep notes and highlights on the Amazon side or migrate them to Goodreads, I don’t know. I’m going to drop a note to the helpful Amazon folks and find all that out.

      Like

  7. I still enjoy Facebook, because I don’t look at everybody’s stuff. I avoid the negative people and politics, and look at what family and close friends are doing and pages dedicated to good news, inspiration, and dogs.

    Like

  8. These sites don’t like to let people too comfortable, do they? I don’t use the functions you’re describing (at least, I don’t think I do), so I won’t be affected. I hope you figure out Goodreads 🙂

    Like

  9. I am not a Facebook fan and never have been, however, my hubby enjoys it. I stick to my beBee and LinkedIn crowd, which if I don’t feel comfortable with them or their posts, I mute them. I’ve seen a few questionable bloggers on WordPress, which I won’t follow them. There is enough negative junk in the news so I don’t need to see it in my social media or blogging sites.

    I have a few books on Kindle but I use it mostly for games and when we travel.

    Like

    1. That’s part of my objection to Goodreads: they want you to connect Goodreads to Facebook so people can “find” you. Except on the blog, I prefer not to share what I’m reading, my highights and notes, or my opinion on it with anyone.

      I mostly use my Kindle for Feedly, Pocket, and commenting on WordPress.Oh, and solitaire, sudoku, and Two Dots 😁. I don’t read novels usually, and I skip around a lot on the books I do read.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t read books either and have always skipped around or scanned them. I wasn’t familiar with Goodreads until recently. I added the Widget as one of my footers to both of my blogs because I thought I might become interested in reading – Nope! I read enough online and have no interest in putting more on my plate.

        Like

Leave a Reply

