Monday’s Music Moves Me: Flash Mobs!

We were given a choice for today’s M4: we could either do songs about work and the end of summer, orwe could use the day as a freebie. I did playlists of summer songs here and here, and did a selection of songs with “work” in the title in an early Friday Five, so I’m going with the “freebie” option.

Last Friday’s 5×2 included a flash mob of swing dancing at the Denver Airport. Arlee Bird commented that he’s “a sucker for flash mobs.” Says he, “It’s a weird idea, but I guess to be expected in our age of the internet and YouTube.”

I’m with Arlee: I’m a sucker for flash mobs, especially videos of flash mobs on YouTube. Here are some of my favorites.

  1. Som Sabadell Flash Mob Banco Sabadell is a banking group headquartered in Sabadell, Spain. This grows from a single cellist into a more-or-less full orchestra and chorus, doing a portion of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony.
  2. Irish Dancing Flash Mob in Essex Aer Lingus (the flag-carrier airline of Ireland) was beginning service to Dublin from London’s Southend Airport, and used a flash mob to announce it.
  3. Bagpipes and Drums Flash Mob Around Christmas 2013, members of the Pacific Coast Highlanders and Gold Coast Pipe Band showed up at The Oaks shopping mall in Thousand Oaks, California and played a couple of Christmas songs, including “Jingle Bells,” “We Wish You A Merry Christmas,” “The Green Hills of Tyrol,” “When The Batlle’s O’er,” and “Scotland The Brave.” Well, not all of them are Christmas songs…
  4. The US Air Force Band At The Smithsonian Again during Christmas, the Air Force Band and Chorus (comprised of some very senior NCO’s, by the way) made an appearance (one at a time or so) at the National Air & Space Museum (a pretty fascinating place, by the way) and gave us “Jesu, Joy of Men’s Desiring” and “Joy To The World.”
  5. Ravel’s “Bolero”, amazing youngest flash mob! I can only go by the title here. The Banda Simfònia d’Algemesí (Spain) gathered in the town’s Plaça del Algemesí on February 23, 2013 and gave us this rendition.
  6. “Do Re Mi” Train stations tend to be large and echo-y spaces, making them perfect for flash mob activity. Here, at the Antwerp train station, members of the crowd broke out in song and brought everyone with them.
  7. Heathrow Airport Welcome Some international passengers disembarking from flights into Heathrow got the welcome-home of their lives from various staff at the airport…
  8. Mamma Mia! So, you’re sitting in the food court at a shopping mall, minding your own business, and suddenly someone’s dancing on your table… At Vila Olimpia shopping mall, I’m guessing in São Paolo, Brazil.
  9. Verdi’s “La Traviata” Lest you believe there’s nothing flash mob-wise for you opera fans… At De Bijenkorf department store in Amsterdam.
  10. “Best Flash Mob Ever” At least in the opinion of the person who posted it. I’m thinking this might be in Dubai, maybe the airport. But anyway, some great dancing in this one.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for September 4, 2017. Have a good Labor Day!

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

29 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Flash Mobs!”

  1. So I was going to watch this in stages and ended up watching the whole thing! I love these flash mobs and wish I could actually see one. There was one close to where I live in a mall I have been to thousands of times over the decades and it was great. It was Chorus Niagara at the Seaway Mall in Welland. They did the Messiah near Christmas and it was great. I loved all of these actually. I loved the first one since I am a sucker for Beethoven. All are so excellent..I am always gobsmacked at the Irish dancing

    Like

    1. I have to be careful with the flash mob videos, because they could really lead me down a rabbit hole. There were a number of Christmas Carol flash mobs out there that are a lot of fun, and you catch yourself singing along.

      Like

  2. Very cool. I wonder about how they practice these things because they must have to take into consideration the unexpected things that might happen, especially in the case of the restaurant. I mean, food on the tables and the like. Must take a decent amount of time to prepare these. Thanks for sharing. Happy Labor Day.

    Like

    1. I’m sure there’s much more to the preparation than just a bunch of messages. I’m sure the ones that were commercial endeavors were well-coordinated, and Lord knows the Air Force Band has all that discipline… I really don’t know how they pulled off one in the food court, though. It looks like they did it at lunchtime, and you know food courts at lunchtime.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Fun stuff. Never considered using “Bolero” as a flash mob piece, but considering the way it builds up it almost seems the composition was written to be used in this way.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. I thought that was particularly well-done, that one and the aria from “La Traviata.” I had a great-aunt who was a coloratura soprano and was involved with the Illinois Opera Guild most of her life, so it made me think of her.

      Like

  4. I was going to leave a quick note and run we’re leaving for our river that’s only a few blocks away and have a barbecue there & we’re bringing our new pup “Charlie”. By the way posting a Post all about Charlie and asking for advice very shortly if you’d like to stop by & see him and give me a few pointers. Now my man, you’re are after my heart! I totally agree with you let’s throw in all dem dare nuts that you suggested. Variety is the spice of life as they say! LOVIN’ YOUR CHOICES! Love the flash mob scene! Those are so cool!

    Like

    1. I know next to nothing about dogs (cats, on the other hand… we’ve had three dozen in 40 years of marriage, a few of which lived twenty years or more), but I’ll be sure to stop by.

      Hey, I love Chex Mix. The mother of a friend of mine made the best Chex Mix I’ve had. The original has Worcestershire sauce and garlic powder, and after you poured in the butter you’d bake it for a few minutes. Mmmm good!

      Flash mobs are a lot of fun to watch, aren’t they?

      Like

  5. FANTASTIC!!! Loved all these flash mobs. What fun! I would love to see one live. Such a treat for the unsuspecting crowd of folks. I like them all, but I’d have to say my favorite is the International Welcome Home at Heathrow, followed closely by the Mama Mia one. I also really enjoyed the first one at the Banco Sabadell, the “Do Re Mi” at the train station and Irish dancers at the London airport. The Irish dancing footwork fascinates me and I’m a big fan of Riverdance ever since I saw the production when they came to Austin several years back. I had awesome seats, way in the front middle section and it was incredible.

    The one thing that stuck out to me is the apparent cool climates in a lot of these flash mobs scenes. It was so nice to see people walking around in jackets and coats. I so miss cool and cold weather. I can’t even remember the last time I wore a coat! One of these days I’m going to get back up to my hometown during the winter months…or just go someplace north! I have my gorgeous purple coat that has been hanging in my closet unworn for the last 26 years. I doubt it even still fits! Anyway, that was a weird tangent… but it really was nice to see all the jacket-clad folks walking around in these videos. I could almost feel a pleasant chill… πŸ™‚

    Excellent post John. Thanks for the entertainment!

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. The one in the airport is especially lovely. There are several airport ones (I think the last one was done in an airport, but it could be a shopping mall) including one where they start dancing in the departures area. I couldn’t find that one, and like you said, the one I did post was especially sweet.

      Back in my piping days, we had a lady who was an Irish dancer, and she was fantastic into her late thirties. The footwork amazes me. Check out the footwork in some of the videos of the sailor’s hornpipe… they really get going.

      We’re fortunate in that we still get four seasons, and it gets pretty darn cold here in winter. We occasionally get snow, and sometimes get stuck in the house for several days, but that’s pretty rare, thank heavens… Funny story that I think you’ll appreciate, seeing that I think you’re from around there: First time I went to San Antonio, a young woman told me that it never snows there. That was in August; the following January the town was tied up for a couple of weeks thanks to snow. I think SAT was even less prepared than ATL for it…

      Like

  6. John,

    Flash mob videos are always a lot of fun to watch and I think it would be so cool to actually experience one but I’d never have that kind of luck. These were really good ones, most of them I haven’t seen before now. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. There are a ton of flash mob videos out there, and you could easily get lost going through them. Some are better than others, but they’re all pretty good, at least the singing and dancing ones.

      Like

      1. That was a great collection! The first one is one of my faves, I watch it at least once every year. I loved the ABBA one and the airport one and the Do Re Mi — Great List! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure there is, which kind of violates the original intention of them… but I don’t care. These seem a lot more well-done, and it doesn’t bother me that they’re done as a form of advertising sometimes. The first one gave me the chills, how that came together, and the people doing the Irish dance (especially the young woman who started the whole thing, who I would guess has won more than a few awards for her dancing) were magnificent. They all were. I love “La Traviata”… I’m not an opera fan but that was especially well-done.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Flash mobs are a lot of fun to watch. I agree, one could get carried away and wind up watching them all day on the internet. You captured some really good ones here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

