Two For Tuesday: Doris Day (The Baby Boom Years)

Today we start a new series here on Two for Tuesday: The Baby Boom Years, 1946-1964. Like I did with the music from my high school years, I’ll be looking at the charts for those years and determining who had the most hits on the yearly Top 100 and reporting on them. In order to come up with my working lists, I’ll be relying on the research of TSort.info, a site created by Steve Hawtin and others which might be the most comprehensive list I’ve found of music charts (and he and crew have done yeoman service gathering and sorting the data and coming up with a worldwide Top 100 for every year since 1900). Steve says that, if I find the site helpful, I can show my appreciation by making a contribution to my local cerebral palsy organization. If you enjoy this series, why not do the same?

I’m going to have to wing it for a couple of weeks while I gather the data and analyze it, but let’s start with someone I should have mentioned while we were discussing Chanteuses, but didn’t: Doris Day. Ms. Day is still with us, having turned 95 last April 3, but retired from acting in 1973 after the cancellation of The Doris Day Show after five years. Her last single was “Sorry” in 1967, and her last album, My Heart was released in 2011. The preceding album, The Love Album, was recorded in 1967 but wasn’t released until 1994.

Her first #1 hit during this period was the standard “Love Somebody,” which she recorded in 1947 with Buddy Clark. It had been written earlier that year by Joan Whitney and Alex Kramer. It reached #1 on the Billboard pop chart in 1948, stayed there for five weeks, and went gold.

One of Ms. Day’s most famous songs, 1956’s “Que Sera, Sera (Whatever Will Be, Will Be),” only reached #2 in the US but reached #1 in the UK. It was written by Jay Livingston and Ray Evans that year and it was featured in Alfred Hitchcock’s The Man Who Knew Too Much, which starred Ms. Day and James Stewart; it won the Academy Award for Best Song (as “Whatever Will Be, Will Be (Que Sera, Sera)”) that year. It was the theme song for her 1968-1973 sitcom and became her signature song.

Doris Day appeared in 39 feature films from 1948 to 1968, with her first role being the lead in 1948’s Romance On The High Seas, where she replaced Betty Hutton. She was in three films with Rock Hudson, 1959’s Pillow Talk, 1962’s Lover Come Back, and 1963’s Send Me No Flowers. Maybe my favorite of her films was 1960’s Please Don’t Eat The Daisies with David Niven.

She was married four times and had one son, Terry, with her first husband Al Jorden. Terry was adopted by her third husband, Richard Melcher, to whom she was married from 1951 until his death in 1968. Terry died from melanoma in 2004. (Wear sunscreen!)

She’s an animal lover who has started several animal-rights organizations, including Actors and Others For Animals (1971), The Doris Day Pet Foundation (now the Doris Day Animal Foundation) (1978) and the companion Doris Day Animal League (1987), which merged into the Humane Society of the United States in 2006. Most recently, she started the Doris Day Horse Rescue and Adoption Center in Texas in 2011 to help abused and neglected horses. Obviously, one key to her longevity is staying busy.

Doris Day, your Two for Tuesday, September 5, 2017.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

10 thoughts on “Two For Tuesday: Doris Day (The Baby Boom Years)”

  1. Wow, she’s still alive? Why did I think she had passed away? I liked Please Don’t Eat the Daisies but it was a TV show I watched, not the movie. I’ll have to give the movie a shot.

    Like

    1. The show starred Pat Crowley and Mark Miller and was on for two seasons. Do you happen to remember the show where Robert Vaughan and David McCallum guest-starred, and the boys thought their father was an UNCLE agent? I only saw it once, but I’ll never forget it. They used a lot of the same camera tricks as in “The Man From UNCLE,” like the freeze frame that fades to a blur. There was also an episode in the last season of “The A-Team” when Vaughan starred in the show where McCallum appeared as an enemy agent and the two of them were bantering like in the old days. I’m sorry Vaughan never made an appearance on “NCIS”; it’d be fun to see them work together one last time, but sadly Vaughan passed away last Novmber just before his 84th birthday. (I see David McCallum on NCIS and can’t believe he’s almost 84….)

      Anyway, back to “Daisies”: the original movie shows up on TCM occasionally, and it’s hilarious, so be sure and catch it….

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I met Robert Vaughn in Peoples Drugs on Wisconsin Avenue in Georgetown, 1976. My friends and I walked up to him and I said, “Hello, Mr. Vaughn.” He got that half smile smirk he was famous for on his face, nodded and said, “Hello boys….”

    Like

Leave a Reply

