Monday’s Music Moves Me: 9-11

The theme for today’s M4 is, of course, a remembrance of the terrorist attacks sixteen years ago today. I only did 5 today; these have maybe the most meaning to me.

  1. Congress sings “God Bless America” On the night of 9-11, the House and Senate leadership, along with a number of members of both chambers, took a moment from their bickering and not getting anything done to express their concern for those who had been affected by the attacks on New York and Washington. Spontaneously, the members broke into an impromptu rendition of “God Bless America.”
  2. Congress sings “The Star-Spangled Banner” On the tenth anniversary of the attacks (actually on September 12th because the 11th was a Sunday), the members of Congress again put their differences aside and met on the steps of the Capitol Building for a memorial, and sang the National Anthem. Appearances notwithstanding, that is not John Boehner singing the lead.
  3. Diana Ross sings “God Bless America” when baseball resumes Baseball took the rest of that week off after the attacks, and when the Mets started their first home series after the attacks, they played the Braves. There was a big ceremony that night, with members of the New York Police and Fire Departments standing on the field, the Mets wearing caps that said “NYPD” and “NYFD” in their honor, and Diana Ross singing. (I know for a fact that, while baseball was away, Mets manager Bobby Valentine helped out at Ground Zero, and I believe other members of both the Yankees and Mets visited the area and lent at least their moral support, if not their help with the cleanup.) For the record, the Mets beat the Braves 3-2.
  4. Jack Buck addresses the St. Louis Cardinals fans Jack had been the voice of the Cardinals for years and had retired because of his battle with Parkinson’s disease. As ill as he was, he agreed to address the fans when baseball resumed. This is one of the more memorable statements from that address.
  5. Jack Buck’s 9-11 poem Jack also read a poem he had written for 9-11 and left an impression on all who attended, most definitely the players. As ill as he was (he passed away the following June), he still sounded pretty strong.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for September 11, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

26 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: 9-11”

  1. John,

    My friend you covered this anniversary spot on with “God Bless America”. I whole heartedly agree God bless America! I absolutely loved Jack Buck’s poem. His inspirational words are uplifting, encouraging, and need to be put to mewsic. Buck’s words are powerfully moving. Thank you for sharing this with me and again God bless America!

    Like

  2. Hi John – excellent reminders of such a sad time … so difficult. Thank you for reminding us that music can heal at times – Hilary

    Like

  3. I used KFOG as my clock alarm in 2011. I awoke to newsman Scoop Nisker saying, “…and we have confirmed reports that an airliner has crashed into the World Trade Towers.” It sounded so unreal that I didn’t quite believe it until discovering every radio station had the same news bulletin.

    When anyone talks about Congress lately I’ve been reminded of the refrain in this Jeff Beck tune –

    Like

    1. I was on my way to work and heard that a plane had hit it, and thought they meant a small plane, like a Cessna. It wasn’t until I got to the office that I saw it was a jet, and saw the next one hit.

      Like

  4. I don’t know that 9/11 has the same meaning for most people that it did 5, 10, or 16 years ago. Eventually to future generations it will be like 12/7/41 or 6/6/44–a time when a few kind of remember and most just see it as some vague point in history that they can’t quite recall what it was.

    I thought about doing a 9/11 post, but it probably wouldn’t have been about the events that made this day what it is now. It’s something that happened in our country, but in the bigger scheme of things few people recognize the true meanings of it all.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. Or November 22, 1963, although that seems to be one of those events that no one who was around then will forget. It’s like the old saying says, the death of one is a tragedy, the death of 5000 is a statistic. Sounds callous, I know, but I think people have trouble processing that many deaths at once.

      I wonder if previous generations remembered where they were when they heard Lincoln was assassinated, or McKinley or Garfield?

      Like

      1. So true that 11/22/63 is iconic to those who were living at the time. I doubt whether most college students would even know the significance of the date. I’d say a large number couldn’t even identify a picture of JFK let alone be able to tell much about what he did.

        Arlee Bird
        Tossing It Out

        Like

        1. Hey John & Lee,

          I was too little to remember JFK’s assassination but historical points such as the bombing of Pearl Harbor and D-Day are important events worth remembering. These dates need emphasizing and just as important as dates are in history so are landmarks and symbols. It disturbs me to see people wanting to ban a southern flag or remove a Confederate statue or other such nonsense. That was then, and this is now. We need to look back to see how far we came with the hopes of not going backward. History will repeat itself if forgotten. It may be that blacks won’t be the oppressed but it could be another race or religion. We are all equal in God’s eyes and it’s time that mankind accept one other for who he/she is regardless of skin color or sex. I do realize what Lee is saying is probably true in the years to come 9/11 will not touch folks hearts the same.

          Like

          1. History is history, warts and all. The warts are what make us human and what makes history. We can’t expunge those things or sanitize them. They happened and we learned from them (hopefully), and should keep remembering.

            Like

  5. This is a very nice tribute but I always think of Kate Smith with God Bless America even though few people know of her now. This is now history and will soon be remembered like D Day or Pearl Harbour but people will remember and still be moved. One can see this when you see people visiting the memorial at Pearl Harbour

    Like

    1. It amazed me when I went to Pearl Harbor how many Japanese were there. Now, Japanese are ubiquitous in Hawai’i anyway, but even so… WWII was a horrifying experience for everyone involved, and I think it’s a healing experience for everyone to remember and to see what the war resulted in.

      Kate Smith’s version of “God Bless America” is iconic, of course, but my favorite is sung by a tenor from the Atlanta Opera who sings it every Sunday at Braves home games. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2gFE2nbyn0Q

      Like

  6. John, I really enjoyed this. I saw the Mets game live on TV. The Jack Buck poem, sad to say (I’m not the baseball fan I was in my youth) I had never heard of. To it, I can say “if only”. And just think, one of the last things Congress did – why does it take tragedy, like the Congressional baseball shooting of earlier this year, to bring them together temporaryily? You did an excellent job with the prompt today.

    Like

    1. I want to smack everyone in Congress sometimes. They think their job is to get re-elected and to appear on the news channels. No law is perfect, but they should compromise or admit they aren’t the ones that should be writing it and turn the job over to the states. I think if you look at the body of law we have now, half of it shouldn’t be decided in Washington anyway.

      Jack Buck nailed it. He was a great American.

      Like

  7. John, this is a fantastic tribute post! I love your approach with it and the video choices you made. It made me cry. I almost always cry when I hear God Bless America and the Star Spangled Banner. Hearing Jack’s poem was fabulous.
    Excellent 9/11 playlist, my friend. Thanks for this.

    Have a good weekend,

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. PS: I totally forgot it is September 15th already and don’t have a BOTB post prepared. I have my battle all picked out, just never had a chance to put it together before today got here! And I don’t have time today either. I’m running behind already. But I’ll be sure to stop by and check out everyone’s battles over the coming days…

      Like

Leave a Reply

