Monday’s Music Moves Me: Your “Body Parts” Songs

Last Friday (today as I write this), I gave you ten songs that mentioned body parts in the title and asked for more suggestions. This was not an easy topic, as Kip pointed out, and as of 4 PM Eastern Time on Friday you only came up with eight, so I added two of my favorites at the end. If I get any more suggestions over the weekend, I’ll be sure to add them.

Monday Morning: I had a couple of additions to this list come in after I finished it, and wanted to add them. So we’re up to twelve.

  1. Al Martino, “Spanish Eyes” Birgit came up with this suggestion. There are lots of versions of this one, but Al’s is my favorite, the title track from his 1966 album. As a single, it reached #15 on the Hot 100, #16 on the Cash Box chart, #1 on the UK’s Adult Contemporary chart, and #5 on the UK Pop chart.
  2. Sir Mix-A-Lot, “Baby Got Back” Birgit goes from the sublime to the ridiculous with this one, which most people know as “I Like Big Butts.” Released in 1992 on his Mack Daddy album, the song was the #2 top-selling record (after Whitney Houston’s “I Will Always Love You”) of the year, despite being banned from MTV and radio stations everywhere for its rather blatantly sexist lyrics.
  3. Queen, “Fat Bottomed Girls” Arlee said that if I planned on playing the last one, I might as well play this one. From Queen’s 1978 Jazz album, it was the B side to “Bicycle Race.” It charted pretty well for a B side: #24 on the Hot 100, #18 on the Cash Box survey, #17 on Canada’s RPM Singles chart, and #11 in the UK.
  4. Stevie Nicks & Tom Petty, “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” Janet suggested this one, and I thought it was a Fleetwood Mac song until I went to find it. It was the first single from Stevie’s first solo album, 1981’s Bella Donna. Tom Petty and Mike Campbell wrote this originally for The Heartbreakers, and it’s the only song on the album not written or co-written by Nicks. It peaked at #3 in the US for six consecutive weeks, but only reached #50 in the UK.
  5. Pat Benatar, “Heartbreaker” Kip gave us this and the next three. This was the lovely Ms. Benatar’s first Top 40 single, reaching #23 in the US, #16 in Canada. It was from 1979’s In The Heat of The Night, her debut album.
  6. Original Cast, “Hair” I think Kip was worried I’d pull the version by The Cowsills out again, because he specifically said “Original Cast.” The show debuted off-Broadway in 1967 and on Broadway in 1968; hard to imagine it’s fifty years old…
  7. Foreigner, “Hot Blooded” From their second album, 1978’s Double Vision, the song reached #3 in the US and Canada and #42 in the UK that year.
  8. Chu Chu TV, “Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes” There are about eight bazillion versions of this kid’s song out there, and I must have chosen the strangest one to highlight here. Enjoy!
  9. Spinal Tap, “Big Bottom” I picked the next two, and with this one got into the backside game. Featured in the 1984 mockumentary film This Is Spinal Tap which starred Saturday Night Live’s Michael McKean, Christopher Guest, and Harry Shearer as everyone’s favorite heavy metal band. I trust that everyone has seen the movie, but if you didn’t, it’s hilarious.
  10. Cheech & Chong, “Earache, My Eye!” “Turn That Thing Down” by Alice Bowie (Cheech) is the song that the kid (Chong) plays when he gets up that has his father (Cheech again) so upset. A life study of parent-teen relationships in the Seventies, it’s from the duo’s 1974 Cheech & Chong’s Wedding Album, and reached #9 in July of that year.
  11. Journey, “Open Arms” Jeanne Owens recommended this one. From their 1981 album Escape, it’s their biggest Hot 100 hit, reaching #2 and staying there for six weeks, behind The J. Geils Band’s “Centerfold” and Joan Jett and The Blackhearts’ “I Love Rock & Roll,” in 1982.
  12. Rex Harison, “I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face” Uncle Jack came up with this one, from the Lerner & Loewe musical My Fair Lady. Rex Harrison, who played Professor Henry Higgins in the West End and Broadway musicals and in the 1964 film, doesn’t sing it so much as speak it, but it’s just as effective. Maybe more so.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for September 18, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

35 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Your “Body Parts” Songs”

    1. Mary found one of those toy figures years ago that was a martial arts expert, and when you flipped it on it did selected lines from that song. At least the ones that were clean enough to share…

      Like

  1. John,

    What a cool theme choice to use for “freebie” week! You should suggest this to Marie for a future theme. It’ll certainly be a challenge for us to outdoor each other, won’t it? Some of your songs on the playlist made me laugh and I kept thinking about how I try to minimize my backside. That’s where all the extra weight goes and I do. Not. Want. A. BIG. Bottom! You brought some excellent dance tunes to the floor with “Heartbreaker” and “Hot Blooded”. Thanks for hitting the dance floor with the 4M crew and have a tunetastic week, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That line from “Spinal Tap” is a classic. That whole scene with Christopher Guest is a riot. Maybe I think so because I know people like that… “Don’t touch it! Don’t even LOOK at it!”

      Like

  2. Yes, John great theme… if you have any others under your belt there that you would like to do send them to xmasdolly at comcast dot net or leave me a comment – this is a fantastic one! Wish I would’ve thought of it myself. hahahaha Ahhhhhhh Spanish eyes… a tune I had to learn on the accordion. I remember it well.

    Like

  3. Great theme! It really uses the imagination. You can also add The Weeknd’s ‘Can’t Feel My Face’ , Frankie Valli’s ‘My Eyes Adored You’, Kenny Loggins ‘Footloose’

    Like

  4. You featured two songs I ABSOLUTELY DETESTED when they first came out, but it didn’t take me long to come around. Especially Baby’s Got Back, which is so bad it’s good. And the video, with its…uh, symbolism, especially the floating tomatoes and bananas at the (no pun intended) end. Hysterical. And teaming it up with Spinal Tap. So precious in my sights! Ending with a show tune – you nailed this theme.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Knees are acting up, but I’m hanging in there. “I Only Have Eyes For You” has been covered so many times, it’s a great candidate for a Battle of the Bands. Have to remember that…

      Like

Leave a Reply

