Monday’s Music Moves Me: Back to School, 2017

We did “back to school” songs last year. I presented five songs and asked if you had any, and of course you had a few, but never did anything with the suggestions. So, here’s what I did: I put my songs, and your suggestions, into a playlist. Ain’t I clever? (I did have to remove Rod Stewart’s “Maggie May,” because WMG “blocked” it.)

  1. Allan Sherman, “The Drop-Outs March” This got a few laughs last year. From Allan’s 1964 album Allan In Wonderland.
  2. Chuck Berry, “School Days” One of Chuck’s best-known songs, fom 1957. He had an all-star band behind him: Hubert Sumlin (Howlin’ Wolf’s longtime guitarist) on guitar, Willie Dixon (one of Chicago Blues’ most prolific songwriters) on bass, and Fred Below (from The Four Aces) on drums. It went to #5 on the Hot 100 and #1 on the R&B chart.
  3. Brownsville Station, “Smokin’ In The Boys’ Room” The pride of Ann Arbor, Michigan, they went to #3 with this in 1973, when I was in high school and smokin’ in the boy’s room myself.
  4. The Coasters, “Charlie Brown” Singers of some of the more hilarious songs to hit the charts, The Coasters released this in February 1959. It went to #2 in the US and #6 in the UK.
  5. The Police, “Don’t Stand So Close To Me ’86” Kip suggested the song; I remembered this version of it, and liked it better.
  6. The Happenings, “See You In September” Originally done by The Tokens in the Fifties, The Happenings had a hit wth this in 1966. Kip thought it was done by Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons, and so did a lot of other people, I think, myself included.
  7. Sam Cooke, “Wonderful World” Kip had trouble remembering the third song he wanted to suggest, and I surmised it might have been this one. Sam’s version peaked at #12 on the Hot 100. It was also covered by Herman’s Hermits, who reached #7 on the Hot 100 and #4 in the UK. Simon and Garfunkel teamed with James Taylor for another cover that’s best left forgotten.
  8. Frankie Avalon, “Beauty School Dropout” Uncle Jack remembered this from the film Grease. I think this was my favorite scene in the movie.
  9. Good Rats, “School Days” A suggestion from Arlee Bird. The Good Rats are from Long Island, New York and mainly popular there. Not sure what album this is from.
  10. Van Halen, “Hot For Teacher” Alana Mautone suggested this one. From VH’s sixth studio album 1984, released early that year. It reached #56 on the Hot 100.
  11. Cheech & Chong, “Sister Mary Elephant” From the album Big Bambu, this was always good for a laugh. The kid who uploaded this synced it with a Naruto anime, and though I’m not fond of it, he did a pretty good job. Kip suggested this.
  12. The Ramones, “Rock ‘n’ Roll High School” I was bummed about “Maggie May,” then thought of this, the theme song for the 1979 movie of the same name. It peaked at #67 in the UK but didn’t chart in the US.
  13. Muddy Waters, “Good Morning Little Schoolgirl” Arlee’s latest Battle of the Bands used this song, and I had to include it. Muddy’s joined by Buddy Guy on guitar, Willie Dixon on bass, and Clifton James on drums.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for September 25, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

36 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Back to School, 2017”

  1. Great Back to School playlist John. Sister Mary Elephant is hilarious…although maybe a bit loud at 6:15am. 🙂 The associated video was fun to watch and I just had to laugh every time I heard “Hey, I gotta go to the can, man”….”Hey, I still gotta go to the can man.” Lol.
    We both used Smokin’ in the Boys Room. Such a classic from back in the day…
    It’s interesting that there are so many songs named School Days and they’re all different. You used two and I used School Days by the Kinks.
    Happy Monday my friend. Have a good week…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  2. John,

    I remember “The Drop-outs March” after hearing it again. It is a funny little ditty. I may have to add it to my growing list but I’ll admit when I think of school days, I don’t think about drop-outs. 🙂 Marie also shared “Beauty School Drop-outs”. You put together some tracks that no one else has shared yet, including me and I have a nice playlist at the end of today’s post. Thanks for sharing the dance floor with the 4M gang, my friend. Have a skooltastic week!

    Like

  3. John, you really have a way with playlists! I could add “Hey, Schoolgirl” by Tom and Jerry, better known later as Simon and Garfunkel. It was their first hit, while they were still in school themselves. (Paul was “Jerry Landis”, his assumed last name being the last name of his once-girlfriend Sue, and Artie was “Tom Graph”, because he liked math.)

    Like

      1. I know from firsthand experience that being from / living in Ann Arbor doesn’t qualify one to be the pride thereof. 🙂 Necessary, but not sufficient. Story of my life. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Way ta go, John! Bwahahahaha I never heard this one, but it’s hysterical. We needed a little levity here with these school songs. Wow, you have a great list here… somebody did their homework for sure!!! You my friend get a gold star!!!! 🙂

    Like

    1. Actually, it’s pretty much the same from last year, but with additions from people who suggested them last year and I never got around to adding. There are a couple more that have come in since then…

      Like

    1. Great choices! I don’t know that anyone chose “Be True To Your School” (I’ll take another look just to be sure). “My Eyes Adored You” is a great song, and yeah, that first verse talks about “carry your books from school.” Great additions!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You know, Cathy Kennedy had that on her list, then someone else found a video of Tiny Tim singing it. I have the latter in my playlist, which now includes songs that the other 4M’ers used for Monday. Great video!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Rockin’ to your expanded list on You Tube from the various others who participated in MMM, I ran across the Supertramp song. What memories that brought back; it’s been years since I’ve heard that song. And I came so close to using the Cat Stevens song; not quite sure why I deleted it at the last minute. And Allan Sherman; I owned one of his albums.

    Like

Leave a Reply

