The End-of-the-Baseball Season Week That Was

This edition of The Week That Was is sponsored by Tang. Chosen for the Gemini astronauts!

I remember the Gemini 4 mission, with BGen. Jim McDivitt and LCol. Ed White, both of the US Air Force, manning another mission to space, White becoming the first man to walk in space. Of interest to Mother Juanita, who was my 3rd grade teacher (we were still in school the day it took off, even though we had started in August, ostensibly so we could be out before June 3) was that McDivitt was a Catholic (he was also from Chicago). Colonel White was one of the three astronauts (the others were Gus Grissom and Roger Chaffee) killed in the Apollo 1 disaster, when the rocket that was scheduled to take off later that week caught fire during a prelaunch test with the three of them in it. They died two days after my father died, so it’s burned into my brain. Anyway…

The Week That Was

I’m coming to you from Starbucks, where I’m sitting in my wheelchair because my knees have gotten so bad. Pray that I get into Physical Therapy soon. I think I’d be fine if I didn’t have stairs to cope with. Enough about that. The Braves finish their season today, and it’d be nice if they won (they’ve lost six in a row, including Friday when they had a 5-0 lead and ended up losing 6-5). Enough about that. Here’s the week in review.

The theme was “school,” which we had done last year, so I took that playlist and added a few more songs to it. Ater that, I thought it’d be fun to add everyone else’s playlist to mine, so now the “Back To School” playlist has 52 songs in it, which should keep you busy for a while. Freebie this week, and I’m kicking around a few ideas.

Crooner Eddie Fisher, whose career as a teen idol ended with the advent of rock & roll and with his affair that broke up his marriage with Debbie Reynolds, was the featured artist this Tuesday.

Another funny from Facebook this week. To guote Jimmy Durante, I got a million of ’em!

The prompt I used was “write a post in 14 lines,” which as always I took to mean “sentences.” I rambled all over the place, touching on Roman numerals, vintage TV and my fear of logos (I’m over it now, thanks), and cursive writing.

Survey time! This week’s was from WLS on that day in 1962. The Top Ten on the station was actually the Top Eleven, because The Beach Boys had a double-sided single (“Surfin’ Safari”/”409”) tied for number 5.

Dan Antion filled in for Linda this week, and chose the prompt “do/dew/due.” I only managed to get two of the three words in, omitting “dew” (I started to write about the DEW line and it got too complicated), but as is usually the case these days it was all about my knees. Well, not entirely: I also talked about the number of videos on YouTube dedicated to stuff from TV that isn’t exactly shows. I have at least one person watching them now, which makes me feel good. Most of the comments had to do with pantyhose, which I believe are almost universally despised by women who had to wear them until fashion freed them from it.

I have no surprises planned for this week, but if I planned them, they wouldn’t be surprises, would they?

Thanks to Dan Antion, Birgit, lecycliste (Mark), Janie Junebug, Janet, WendyJ59, Deborah Drucker, Jami Carder, Joey, Martha Reynolds, Maggie Wilson, Eugenia, Sandi, Annie, Miriam Hurdle, Kip, Christy Richardson, Cathy Kennedy, Stomper Dad, Frank Hubeny, BikerChick57, Michele, Joyce Lansky, Ed Thierbach, Patrick Weseman, Mary B, XmasDolly, D-FensDogG, MJGolch, Alana Mautone, and everyone who gave me a “like” for stopping by.

And that’s it for this edition of The Week That Was. See you in the funny papers!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

16 thoughts on “The End-of-the-Baseball Season Week That Was”

  1. Yes, end of the season for our Giants too and they did manage a win. I’m hoping for better things next year (it’s an even year and we have had good luck in even years). Crossing fingers for PT for you and your knees. Thanks for sharing it all!

    Like

    1. That’s the way it goes with a baseball team: you have periods where it seems they can do no wrong followed by periods where they just can’t catch a break. The Braves had that 1991-2005 streak and it’s been pretty much downhill since then. They are rebuilding and have a few legitimate stars to build around, but they’re still a year or two from being a contender. Still, it’s fun to watch and see the occasional display of brilliance, and fun to watch the young kids coming up and the excitement they bring to the game (though sometimes it’s not the good kind of excitement). You watch long enough, you think you’ve seen it all, then something happens that surprises you. It’s what the game is all about.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. It’d be one thing if the Braves and/or White Sox were in it, but since neither team is, I sort of lost interest. Assuming Spring Training stars on February 19 next year, we’re 140 days from it. I’m sure I can find some way to fill the hours and minutes…

          Liked by 1 person

  2. We just don’t know what happens and I’m sitting here listening to the horrific news out of Las Vegas. I just had to write this. I went to a pain clinic last week and m going back October 10th to get a 45 min infusion of lydacain. I’ve also been accepted for medical marijuana ( I don’t know if I spelled that correctly). There are 2 types and I will have a split of the non high one and the thc. I will be taking the non high one, in oil form, 3 times per day and the THC once in the evening. I’ll let you know how it works for me. My hubby is going as well since he has severe rheumatoid arthritis. I figure, if one is in bad pain, if anything works, why not go for it. Time will tell if this will work but it makes me feel bad for you that you can’t walk well and need the aid of a wheelchair. Anyhoo, it was fun to look back at some of the music and enjoy those simpler times.

    Like

    1. I hadn’t heard what happened in Vegas when I first saw this. I’m hearing that ISIS is claiming responsibility (http://nypost.com/2017/10/02/isis-claims-responsibility-for-las-vegas-massacre/), which would about figure, though I think they claim responsibility for everything bad that happens here.

      I’ve heard lidocaine is an effective painkiller, I’m not sure how well it matches with the cortisone they injected. My knees are starting to feel better, and I’m going to ask the orthopedist about hyaluronic acid injections, which basically take the place of the pad between the bones in the knee. As I told Mary yesterday, if I didn’t have to deal with stairs I’d be okay…

      Like

    1. Thanks, I will. They’re doing better now. We went out yesterday and it wasn’t as much of a struggle to climb the stairs as it has been. I think it has a lot to do with the cooler weather: the heat makes me sweat (which it’s supposed to do, I know) and I think I was losing a lot of electrolytes in the process. Maybe I should carry Gatorade around when it’s hot.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

