Monday’s Music Moves Me: Autumn Is Falling

This one gave me a little trouble. There are lots of songs about spring, summer, and winter, but autumn? Not quite so many. I found ten, and I’m sure there are plenty more. Here are the ten I found.

  1. Chet Baker, “Autumn Leaves” Actually kind of a supersession with Baker, Paul Desmond (saxophone), Bob James (piano), Ron Carter (bass) and Steve Gadd (drums). I think Desmond’s contributions might have been dubbed in from an earlier session; I know the film of him is probably from the Sixties.
  2. Leon Redbone, “Shine On Harvest Moon” I love Leon’s voice and the approach he took to this one.
  3. Neil Young, “Harvest Moon” Title track of his 1992 album, which many people see as a sequl to his Harvest album from the Seventies.
  4. Jimmy Durante, “September Song” Yes, Durante lost my Battle of the Bands to The Platters last September, and no, I don’t care, I love the way Jimmy does it.
  5. Earth, Wind and Fire, “September” Released in November 1978, it reached #1 on the R&B chart and #8 on the Hot 100.
  6. Tom Waits, “November” Tom’s voice kind of sounds like it should be autumn, regardless of what season it is out there.
  7. The Mamas & The Papas, “California Dreamin'” I know the lyrics say it’s winter, but the image of brown leaves and a gray sky says autumn, so I went with it.
  8. The Happenings, “See You In September” Any excuse to play this one. I love the harmony, which gives this a Four Seasons vibe.
  9. Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong, “Autumn In New York” The more I hear them together, the better I like it. You wouldn’t think it would work, but somehow it does.
  10. Hall & Oates, “Fall In Philadelphia” From their 1972 debut album.

You know the drill: if you have additions to make, drop me a comment, and I’ll play them Friday if there are enough. That’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for October 9, 2017.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

34 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Autumn Is Falling”

  1. Since you went with “California Dreamin'”, which does not have an autumnal title, I feel the liberty to suggest “The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald” by Gordon Lightfoot. Definitely an autumn song, what with the gales of November and all.

    There’s also “September Morn” by Neil Diamond, which will likely stay stuck in my head for the rest of the day, thankyouverymuch. 🙂
    -Ed-

    Like

  2. Awesome playlist John! Many that I hadn’t thought of. We picked a few of the same but not many! I never heard the Hall & Oates song. Wow that’s really good. I also enjoyed seeing Jimmy Durante perform. I liked the Chet Baker jazz standard.
    I like the recommendations that Ed made to: definitely the Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald would be a good fit for the theme. I don’t know the Neil Diamond song he mentioned but I’m going to go check it out.
    Enjoying listening to Leon Redbone again right now.
    Nicely done!

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  3. Maybe not as many songs for autumn as for other seasons, but the songs are good ones. “September Song” is a song that I’ve always liked and as the years go by the song has more significance for me–I get it more personally now.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    Like

      1. I know this is a stretch, but there is “Hymn to Red October” by Basil Poledouris, the theme to “The Hunt for Red October”. Hey, at least it mentions the month. 🙂

        Like

  4. I thought of “Try to Remember” from “The Fantasticks,” although it’s not the sort of song one would hear on the radio. And, continuing the Broadway theme, “If Ever I Would Leave You” from “Camelot” mentions autumn (although it mentions all the seasons, so it doesn’t count as a specifically autumn song).

    Like

  5. I had to look this up, but I did know the song existed. My father ran a bowling alley. Across the street was a group home where they taught blind people basic life skills. They used to bring groups of them bowling, and one older man always brought a harmonica. I worked behind the counter, and when he found out I was born in November, he played November Boogie. I remember thinking it was pretty cool to have a song like that – this version is by Sonny Boy Williamson – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTWa4zsimf0

    Like

  6. I had a hard time with this theme, too, hence my unique interpretation of “Fall.” Tee hee. I guess with California Dreamin’ being on so many of our playlists, it does indeed count.

    Like

  7. Great list, John! I was such a huge fan of Hall & Oates back in the day, I’m surprised that I had forgotten about that one. This was a tough one, but I like a good challenge from time to time.

    Like

  8. I believe Moody Blues sang about Autumn and I love the Moody Blues. I go classical because you can’t get more famous than Vivaldi’s Autumn. Enjoyed listening to some of these.

    Like

  9. John,

    You have an amazing “Autumn” playlist of retro and modern tunes. I enjoyed Chet Baker’s “Autumn Leaves” which is just beautiful and although it’s different, I enjoyed listening to Leon Redbone’s “Shine On Harvest Moon” rendition. Thanks for sharing and playing along with the 4M gang. Have an autumn-tastic week!

    Like

  10. I think you did a great job with Autumn songs. The only one that comes to mind for me is Green Day’s Wake Me Up When September Ends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

