Monday’s Music Moves Me: One-Hit Wonders From 1970

I think I need to explain my subject for today’s M4

Today’s theme, as Xmas Dolly says on her webpage, is

November 13th “Our Spotlight Dancer is “The Testosterone Three & Me” , Vandy J. & our theme is “One hit wonders of when you were in high-school”

When I saw this, I had to laugh, because I just did a whole series on Two For Tuesday about musical acts that were popular during my high school years, 1970-1974. And, as an added bonus, my good friend Cathy did a post last week of #1’s by one-hit wonders for 1970-1974. I joked that I was just going to reblog her post and be done with it.

17474d3a52fd7efdada7b5896b5c5906

Seriously, hers is a great post and if you haven’t read it, please do, because you’ll love it.

Now, she covered the #1’s, but, as you can see on this Wikipedia page, there were a whole bunch of songs by one-hit wonders that made the Top 40 during my high school years. In fact, the more I read, the more I realized I could end up with a list of a hundred songs from those years. I went through just the list of songs from 1970 and picked a good deal more than ten. I decided I was going to have to limit myself to just one year at a time. Today, 1970. And, just so you know, I’m not limiting myself to songs that peaked after September 1, which would have been the official start of my high school years. Here are a dozen songs, one for each month, that I liked from 1970 that were done by one-hit wonders.

  1. Crow, “Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me” This song peaked at #19 on January 10. Crow was a blues-rock band from Minneapolis that was active from 1967 to 1972 and reformed in 1980. They’re apparently still going, from what I read.
  2. Eddie Holman, “Hey There Lonely Girl” This peaked at #2 on February 21. The song was originally done by Ruby and the Romantics (“Our Day Will Come”) as “Hey There Lonely Boy.” Eddie had some hits on the R&B charts over the next few years, and is a sure bet to show up on oldies shows to sing this.
  3. The Jaggerz, “The Rapper” This peaked at #2 nationally on March 21 and went higher in selected markets. The Jaggerz are a band from Pittsburgh, PA that has been together since 1964, but had their best days from 1970 to 1977, after which they broke up for about ten years, reforming in 1989 and still going today.
  4. Norman Greenbaum, “Spirit In The Sky” Peaked at #3 on April 18. Note the opening lick sounds an awful lot like ZZ Top’s “LaGrange.” Norman, inspired by Porter Wagoner singing a gospel song on his syndicated TV show, decided “I can do that,” even though he knew nothing about gospel music. He says he wrote the song in about 15 minutes. Despite the fact that the song talks about Jesus, Norman is Jewish.
  5. Marmalade, “Reflections Of My Life” This peaked at #10 on May 9. It reached #7 on the Cash Box survey, #3 in the UK, and #6 in Canada. Over two million copies have been sold, and the composers, guitarist Junior Campbell and vocalist Dean Ford, received a citation from BMI when the song reached a million airplays in 1998.
  6. White Plains, “My Baby Loves Lovin'” The only song to reach its peak in June, it peaked at #13 on the 27th. The song was sung by session singer Tony Burrows, who also sang on Edison Lighthouse’s “Love Grows (Where My Rosemary Goes” (which peaked at #5 on March 28), The Pipkins’ “Gimme Dat Ding” (peaked at #9 on July 18), and was later a member of The Brotherhood of Man, whose one hit, “United We Stand,” peaked at #13 the following week (July 4).
  7. Blues Image, “Ride Captain Ride” The week after “United We Stand” peaked at #13, this song peaked at #4. The first word of the song, “Seventy-three” was the number of keys on composer Mike Pinera’s electric piano. He started with that, and the song evidently “wrote itself.”
  8. Pacific Gas & Electric, “Are You Ready?” Peaked at #14 on August 1. The title track from PG&E’s 1970 album, it was the only hit for them in their seven years of existence. They were a much bigger item on FM, I think.
  9. Hotlegs, “Neanderthal Man” Peaked at #22 on September 26. Hotlegs was a British pop group that would later form the basis for the band 10cc.
  10. Free, “All Right Now” Reached #4 on October 17. Free’s lead singer, Paul Rodgers, would go on to fame and fortune as the lead singer for Bad Company.
  11. 100 Proof (Aged In Soul), “Somebody’s Been Sleeping” Peaked at #8 47 years ago tomorrow. It took me a minute to place this one, but I remember liking it…
  12. The Presidents, “5-10-15-20 (25-30 Years Of Love)” The only one-hit wonder to peak in December 1970, it reached #11 the day after Christmas. The Presidents were a soul band from Washington, DC. Another one I couldn’t place until I heard it.

This was fun. As we get more “freebie” days, I’ll do the rest of my high school years. Maybe even keep going and do the college years. You have been warned!

That’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for November 13, 2017. Happy birthday, Kip!

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Cathy, and Stacy, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

19 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: One-Hit Wonders From 1970”

  1. Had I done this week’s 4M, I would’ve used several of the ones you listed too. As you might know I’ve been working on my A-Z for 2 years now —-was going to do it last year but will (maybe) do it this coming April: One Hit Wonders A-Z from the 70s.
    So many good songs to choose from!

    Of your list my favorite is Crow’s “Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games with Me). I used this song in one of my Battle of the Bands some time ago.

    I missed last week’s freebie and didn’t do this week’s either because it’s been a crazy few weeks. My dog Picasso had major surgery and it’s been a tough recovery…and then my other dog Luca got sick and had to see the vet. And this week is filled with appointments so I just decided, even though I so loved this week’s theme, I have to sit this one out. I’m tired!

    Thanks for a great playlist! It’s sounding great in my headphones right now.
    Have a good week John.

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. I hate when my cats get sick, because I feel so helpless. They can’t tell me what’s wrong or how bad it is. If you read yesterday’s post, you know one of my cats died Saturday. Until earlier last week, we weren’t even aware he was sick. All of mine have lost a lot of weight, but that’s normal as they get older (they can’t process protein as well), but he was like, one day he was eating fine, by Friday he wasn’t eating, and by Saturday we had a feeling he wasn’t going to make it past that day. Hope your dogs both pull through well and everything gets back to normal for you soon.

      I’ve decided that my next series on Two for Tuesday will be one-hit wonders, so any help I can be on your A to Z this year, let me know. That sounds like a real kick-ass theme.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh John, I’m so very sorry to hear about the passing of your cat. I know all too well how devastating it is to lose a beloved animal companion. My heart goes out to you and your wife. Find peace in the knowledge that you gave your cat a fabulous life in a loving home and that circle of love you all shared can never be broken.
        And I do believe that we all will be reunited with all the furry family members we’ve had throughout our lives when our time comes…
        Until then, I hope your kitty comes to visit you often in your dreams.
        You’ll be in my thoughts…

        Like

  2. John,

    The one-hit wonder series is stockpiled with great hits, many I know and others I’m like “how did I miss that one?”. “Hey There Lonely Girl” was a favorite of mine back in the day. You recapped some great songs from your high school years. The 70s really rocked! Thanks for hitting the dance floor with the 4M gang and thanks for the mention, my friend. Have a tunetastical week!

    Like

    1. And that’s just 1970. I have four more years to cover, not to mention my college years (1974-77; I graduated in 3 1/2 years).

      Did you get my comment? I had to laugh when I saw Brotherhood of Man were one-hit wonders not once, but twice…

      Like

  3. Thank you John. You honor me with your list. Interesting fact on Tony Burrows, I️ was a real fan and didn’t even know his name.

    Like

    1. Enjoy the last year of your 50’s, and many, many more. Love ya, brother.

      Tony is one of the greatest pop sinters you’ve never heard of. I was surprised he was the lead vocal on so many hit records.

      Like

    1. I didn’t like “Spirit In The Sky” until I heard the guitar solo at the end. The radio stations used to fade that out, because it was on the single. “Reflections” is just a great song all around. Glad you enjoyed it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. DUDE!! YOU HAVE ROCKED THE HOUSE! Dang, I haven’t been called… I mean I haven’t heard Evil Woman in years! ~snicker-snicker~ So many that we use to rock to here for sure! Old times… FUN TIMES!!!!!!! THANKS JOHN… bringin’ back some cool memories!

    Like

  5. 1970 was a good year, all right. Several of these I had to play to recognize but there is actually one I never heard – the Hotlegs tune – and it was love at first listen. And they became 10cc. Their “I’m Not In Love” is one of my all time favs. That really was fun!

    Like

  6. 1970 was a great year for music though mostly in the realm of non-top-forty. But you’ve got some good songs here. “Spirit in the Sky” is an all-time classic that I still enjoy a great deal.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    Like

Leave a Reply

